Skip to content

I Love New Year’s Resolutions…I Hate Not Sticking to It

December 30, 2010

We have all made them. The all time favorites are losing weight, starting a diet or just cutting calories, going to the gym daily…you name it and I have promised it to myself. Some other favorites? Stop eating any and all junk food, no more alcohol, become a vegetarian. Non-health related? Well the all time number one for all of us is do not spend so much money. A few new resolutions I have heard lately are to eat greener and to have become more green.

I love New Year’s resolutions. There is just something about promising yourself that this is the year you are going to get healthy, lose weight, to actually use the gym membership you have made high monthly payments to, find a new and or better job, dump the loser partner, stop smoking, get a life or just plain enjoy the one you have. The fact that we recognize that there are things in our lives that need changing and that the New Year presents a new beginning makes it so hopeful and like it is just finally time. Time to get on track with who you know you are, who you want to be and who you just plain deserve to be. We don’t let others hold us back and the New Year presents a way for us to stop holding ourselves back.

I love having a resolution partner. It is hard enough to stick to what you are doing by yourself, but if you have a partner – someone to hold you accountable and tell you to just get up and do it or stop shoveling the chocolate in your face-it just seems a whole lot easier to handle. I am perfectly fine disappointing myself, but if I feel I have let someone down or disappointed them, well I am harder on myself and won’t let it go. When you have a partner that knows how to push you and keep whatever it is you gave up or started for the New Year interesting and fun to do, there is no stopping either of you. It is all about inspiring and if you can find the person, even a long distance partner, who does that is enormous.

I love that most of my resolutions in the past couple years I have been able to keep. A lot of help for this came from my sister-in-law.  She wanted the same things health wise as I do, so it made it a ton easier and I treated her like I was Jillian-fun for me not so much for her. But her knowledge about training for the PT tests from the military and her positivity came in so handy for the both of us. She read Bob Greene’s The Best Life book, and that set the course last January for a four-month weight loss record for both of us and kept us on the training track after I moved away. We both fell off the wagon at different times, but thankfully after a Christmas get together that we both desperately needed, we are on the same track and both feel great about it. Having each other to pick up off the floor, to get in the last workout after a rough day and her to get me to believe I could actually run a mile was amazing.

 I hate not sticking to the resolution. In the last few years I may have been able to stick with what I have said but I have had plenty of resolutions that fell by the wayside as I tromped over them to get to the nearest Mtn Dew, Kit Kat and Starbucks Caramel Frappuccino. I always seem to make resolutions that seem so unattainable that it is okay that I gave up on them, even if I gave up after just a couple of days. Lose one hundred pounds in a year-I couldn’t even lose five pounds in a month because my head wasn’t in the right place to do it. Get a new job. Well can’t do that if you haven’t even written a resume. Join a gym-well I did, but always felt too fat to go. Stop spending money. Ha, I just justified it by putting it on my credit card instead of using my debit card. Excuses, excuses, excuses.

I hate that after drinking Slim-Fast and eating a Lean Cuisine I almost gained back all I lost. My sister-in-laws New Years day tradition-which I love, it is so fun to find cool things to eat that day-of eating foods that have fun names gave me a great start to the new year. I drank a Slim-Fast, ate a Lean Cuisine, had Laffy Taffy and a Payday. The Slim-Fast and Lean Cuisine were to ensure I lost weight during the year-I did, and then moved away to get a job (the Pay Day helped) and everything went downhill so fast that there was almost no stopping the train wreck. Thankfully the Laffy Taffy, so I would have a fun-filled year, saved me from myself. Even having a resolution partner can’t stop the downward spiral of unhappiness. Sometimes it takes hitting bottom to see the light.

I hate that my resolutions always revolve around the same thing. I wish I could say that I would be better off making a resolution that didn’t revolve around my weight or losing weight or working out. But I couldn’t-not and stick with it. I am so caught up right now with weight loss I can’t put any focus into anything else. I would love to be able to do something unrelated to hitting the gym twice a day, but that would require me to get a life…what I should really be making a pledge to do. That to me is too scary and I would rather stick with what I know I can do. I know that my resolution for this year of giving up all chocolate is easier than making a promise to get out more or put myself out there more.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2010 3:22 pm

    Working at higher intensities will promote a greater total calorie loss (even after you are finished exercising), and this is what we are trying to achieve when you’re looking to lose weight and <a href="http://www.burningthefat.org"burn fat. Fat is the major contributor to muscle energy during low-intensity exercise. Because of this most people think that low intensity training must therefore induce an increased muscle fat burning effect. The enzyme, HSL is required to catalyze the breakdown of stored fats in skeletal muscle as it does in fat tissue.

  2. Linda permalink
    December 31, 2010 5:02 pm

    You are amazing!!!!!!! You have made such tremendous changes in your life, truly changed your entire lifestyle. I know that when you are ready to ‘get a life’ you will do it and it will be right for you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

