Skip to content

I Love Starbucks…I Hate Calories

January 10, 2010

I love Starbucks Caramel Frappuccino, I hate that it has so many calories. I so love ordering a grande-not even a venti!-Caramel Frappuccino. All that caramel sauce drizzled on top of the whip cream. The icy-but-slushy liquid sucked through the straw. Oh man, so good. I especially love using a straw to draw out the sauce and lick it up. Yum!

I hate that when I need a good caffeine fix that the calorie laden Frap is what I order. I went through a faze-a daily, weekly, monthly faze-where I only ordered a Venti Soy Caramel Macchiato. All it is is a hot caramel coffee, with soy milk. These are so amazing, and a hundred calories less. I am a lacto-vegetarian, and it makes me feel good about myself to order the soy Macchiato. It is warm and has the perfect amount of caramel to coffee ratio. Unlike the Fraps, which are all caramel, and no coffee flavor to it.  Using soy or non-fat milk takes away so many unnecessary calories. Why can’t I order this more often?

Now don’t get me wrong, Starbucks has graciously created the Caramel Light Frappuccino, but the difference in drinks is not flavorful. Besides not having whipped cream, which I admit adds way to many calories, the flavor is totally downhill. It tastes as though they used ¾ ice, ¼ milk and then a little flavor. The drink separates shortly after getting it, so all you are drinking is the coffee syrup. I really do wish I could learn to love these, because here in Texas a cold summer drink is nice.

Factoids:

Coffee Drink Calories Fat Protein Caffeine(mg)
Caramel Frappuccino-Venti 500 16 8 155
Caramel Frappuccino-Grande 380 15 6 110
Caramel Light Frappuccino-Venti 220 1.5 7 125
Caramel Light Frappuccino-Grande 160 1.5 5 95
Soy Caramel Macchiato-Venti 280 6 9 150
Soy Caramel Macchiato-Grande 230 5 7 150

 

Not just to bash my favorite drinks; the food is not that much healthier. They claim to not use artificial flavors, high-fructose corn syrup, artificial Trans fat or dyes. Well the foods that I like were not affected by any of these. I am in total agreement that no food should have any added anything. But why does the good stuff always have it? Why can’t the Cheese Danish have 200 calories or the “new and improved” Banana Walnut Bread have less than 100 if they have incorporated all these good intentions? It is frustrating when you are trying to treat yourself that you have to hold back.

Favorite Foods Calories Fat Carbs Protein
Cheese Danish 420 25 39 7
Apple Fritter 420 20 59 5
Banana Nut Bread 490 19 75 7
Reduced-Fat Banana Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake 380 7 77 5

 

Not only is the calorie intake of these items astronomical, but the cost is even worse. The prices of drinks are different for the area where you live. The cost for a grande frappuccino should not be in the $4.35 region. Soy milk should not be an added .50 cents. An apple fritter should not be close to two dollars. Why is it I am spending so much money on these?

Everything would be better if I would stick with coffee at home in the mornings. I know I should buy a really cool, stylish and earth friendly travel mug and take my coffee with me so I don’t feel tempted to stop and spend money. I should just stick with my coffee creamer-Southern Butter Pecan-and be happy. Or just splurge on myself and save in the long run and buy myself the Mr. Coffee Frappe Maker. The Maker looks so cool, and if I could make myself one in the morning I could be saving myself so many calories and a bunch of money!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    January 10, 2010 10:11 pm

    I’ve been living in blissful ignorance – I had no idea the caramel coffees had so many calories!

Leave a Reply

