Skip to content

I Love Water…I Hate Plastic Bottles

January 29, 2010

Reduce, Reuse and Recycle. These are what we are told. We get preached at and reminded, told to put our soda cans in the proper bin in the lunch room at school, to put our magazines and newspapers in the boxes for art projects, to not use plastic bags anymore-to bring your own bags to the grocery store. Plastic bottles have no place in the world. Just because something is mass-produced for cheap doesn’t mean it needs to be bought or consumed. Reducing our intake of bad calories, processed foods and plastic products are all points I am working on this year for myself.

I love water. There is no doubt about it, water is crucial for the body. Drinking water helps the body keep moving, process food and your kidneys to function. Water comprises ¾ of your total body weight…  Really, ¾ of my weight? What if I don’t end up getting rid of the 2.7 liters I am supposed to drink for my body weight? What if I didn’t sweat enough during my workout, or put enough lemon in my water? I know it is a healthy drink, has no calories and it makes me healthy but let me also get rid of it so I don’t bloat and gain water weight.

I used to dislike it, it has no flavor and thought the only good use for it was for jumping in a pool or watering the flowers. I thought the sugary goodness of soda and the bright fruitful flavor of juice was enough to sustain me. That didn’t work out so well. Now, I love water. I got past the lack of flavor and added Crystal Light. I rarely even use Crystal Light anymore, I have gotten so used to just drinking it and getting over the lack of flavor. I also started putting lemon juice in it to help blast water retention.

I love that it keeps my hydrated. I love that I can tell the difference when I have not gotten enough-or have gotten too much. When I work out to hard, I end up sucking down a liter bottle of water within an hour. When I haven’t worked out at all I end up drinking too little. I also like that if my head thinks I am hungry, I take in some water first to make sure it is real hunger and not my emotions or boredom that is making me move to the goody cupboard or fridge.

I also love that you don’t have to necessarily drink water to get your water intake. Cucumbers and watermelon are water-logged; they are both a whopping 97% water. Grapefruit is about 90% water and only has 38 calories in a half-fruit serving. Tomatoes and zucchini both come in at 95%, eggplant at 92%, peaches at 92% and carrots are about 88 percent water. Looking for a healthy way to get these without adding excess calories? Toss the veggies in stews, peeling the grapefruit and eat like an orange and make a peach sorbet. Yum!

I hate plastic bottles. Recycling them used to be the biggest issue for plastic bottles. When plastic bottles go un-recycled, they can take up to 500 years to bio-degrade. That is almost as long as plastic bags. Americans buy an estimated 29.8 billion plastic water bottles every year and 8 out of 10 end up in a landfill. Recycling of one plastic bottle can conserve enough energy to light one 60-watt light bulb for up to six hours. How scary are all these facts about how much we use and don’t recycle. How scary is that. Recycling of one plastic bottle can conserve enough energy to light one 60-watt light bulb for up to six hours? Just one bottle, we can all do that!

Reusing plastic is what we were taught for a very long time. Buying a plastic water bottle and keeping it with you to reuse is cost effective and decreases landfill pile up. With the recent studies on BPA in plastic bottles, it is scary to even risk using a bottle once. “BPA is one of many man-made chemicals classified as endocrine disruptors, which alter the function of the endocrine system by mimicking the role of the body’s natural hormones. Hormones are secreted through endocrine glands and serve different functions throughout the body.” Man-oh-man, does that freak you out or what.

I also hate that they are unhealthy for different reasons. I am a plastic bottle re-user. I am a very cheap person so I just re-use until it gets gross and then I recycle it. Yep, I said until it gets gross. After drinking from a plastic bottle for a long period of time it gets grungy on the inside. It looks like it is clouding over…Probably, well most likely, extremely unhealthy. Also, I had a flip top plastic bottle-they are perfect for when you are on a treadmill or elliptical because you don’t need both hands to take off a lid-mold started growing on the inside of the lid. Yuck! Everyone needs a little penicillin I guess, but it grossed me out.

Now don’t get me wrong, I did briefly make the switch to BPA-free water bottles but they didn’t last. I had gotten a metal one from Old Navy, but I didn’t like that the cold water was making the outside of the bottle wet. It wasn’t insulated so it lost the coolness of the water quickly. Also, I don’t like that they don’t have flip tops on any that I have looked at. They need to consult people on different types that would work best-give people options. The ones that do end up have a flip-type mouth piece aren’t all that big. Okay, I am picky.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lia permalink
    April 13, 2010 11:01 pm

    try Klean Kanteen–stainless steel is a lot better to use than plastic.

  2. August 6, 2010 6:36 am

    ‘Recycling of one plastic bottle can conserve enough energy to light one 60-watt light bulb for up to six hours?’

    wow what a waste of energy. my kiddos and i make earrings and other accessories out of plastic bottles hoping that we can contribute in saving the environment our own little ways 🙂

Leave a Reply

