Skip to content

I Love Water Purifiers…I Hate Unclean Water

January 31, 2010

Brita Pink Water Filter

 

Cuisinart CleanWater

In my last post I went over how good water is for you and how bad plastic bottles are not only bad for the environment, but also with all the new health reports coming out they are bad for your body also. Water is easily accessible and fills you up; it quenches your thirst when you didn’t know you were thirsty; it makes a hot day cooler as you dive-bomb into a pool. Water is used for many things-swimming, watering gardens, cleaning-and many of us are fortunate to have it clean at all. 

I love water purifiers. Growing up in the country we had well-water, and man-oh-man was that the best. So pure and refreshing, you wouldn’t know it wasn’t all like this. City water on the other hand, blech. No matter which city you go too, they all have a nasty taste to it. Living briefly in Washington, DC, you are told from the moment you get off the plane not to drink the water-kind of like in Mexico. DC water is gross, and can corrode your insides. Thankfully, I had a good friend who gave me her extra Brita Water filter. 

I loved that Brita so much; I don’t know what I would have done without it. I could not have imagined when I moved to DC that I would need such a thing as a water purifier, but after tasting tap water in a restaurant-and seeing things floating in the glass after I tasted it-was disturbing. And after reading reports about the drinking water having trace amounts of six commonly used drugs including anti-seizure medication, mood stabilizers and antibiotics, it was disturbing and boy am I glad I don’t live there anymore. That Brita saved me! 

Just the fact that you can put the jug under the faucet and drip in dirty water and the charcoal cleans it for me is awesome. It is gratifying to know that this product was out there when I needed it. Brita also has a device that hooks on to your faucet, expelling clean water instantly. If I had known about it I would have bought that, ensuring that when I boiled veggies or made pasta on the stove the water would have been doubly clean. 

According to the Brita website, One Brita® pitcher filter can effectively replace as many as 300 standard 16.9-ounce bottles. One Brita® faucet filter can effectively replace as many as 750 standard 16.9-ounce bottles. That is amazing, and wonderful. 

Here is my hate about Brita water filters. There is a disclaimer on the instructions in small writing of course. Here it is-The Brita® Pitcher Filter is not intended to purify water. Do not use with water that is microbiologically unsafe or of unknown quality without adequate disinfection before or after the system. Individuals requiring water of special microbiological purity should follow the advice of their doctor or local health officials regarding the use and consumption of their tap water and Brita® water. Um, well I guess using this in any large city really did no good. Humph, I will still use it though, so they got me. 

I love the Cuisinart Clean-Water Filtration System, big words for just a counter-top water filter. We received this a few months ago and it is really nice. You just fill the plastic cavern with water and it keeps a steady amount of water. It is a large amount of water, two gallons, so you pretty much only need to fill it up once a night. It is really nice because it gives you the options-having cold, room temp and hot water. It needs to be plugged in, and has an on/off switch. When switched off, that is how you get the hot water. The “Energy Saver reduces energy usage by more than 50%”. Who doesn’t want to save energy and get clean, healthy water at the same time? 

I hate that it is loud, takes forever to heat the water, doesn’t have a fast flow and isn’t tall enough to fill a large bottle. I hate the loudness of the energy saver; it isn’t loud like a blender, more of an annoyingly loud hum. The heating system is cool. I like that heats water for tea, instant oatmeal and a baby bottle but it takes too long. It takes a good 3-5 minutes. I can heat water faster in a microwave. The flow of water is to slow. The system claims fast water flow, but no-let me tell you it doesn’t. The last thing this I hate about it is not tall enough. The spigots are only tall enough to fill a small water bottle, something bigger and you can’t fill it up. When trying to be a healthy water drinker and trying to fill my ½ or 1 liter bottles, I can’t do it. That to me is wasteful. I don’t use cups, only bottles that way I know how much I get in a day. If I can’t get my water bottle filled by this system, then it is worthless to me. 

I just want to end this one with saying that I am very grateful to even have the option to clean and filter my water. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

