Skip to content

I Love Valentine’s Day…I Hate What it Stands For

February 9, 2010

Saint Valentine’s Day is an annual holiday held on February 14 celebrating love and affection between intimate companions. The holiday is named after one or more early Christian martyrs named Valentine and was established by Pope Gelasius I in 496 AD. It is traditionally a day on which lovers express their love for each other by presenting flowers, offering confectionery, and sending greeting cards.”  Hmm, who knew that this romantic holiday dated back so far or that it was the pope who traditionalized the holiday to begin with? I didn’t.

I love Valentine’s Day. The chocolates and the flowers, the red and pink hearts dancing all around you. Yummy, ooey-gooey peeps and caramel hearts; cherry flavored lips candies; the I Love You Berry Much bears; sweetheart candies and Hershey Kisses-yummy! Can you tell what I fixate on this time of year? The flowers that we get or send to our loved ones; the absolutely, outrageously good cookies from Cheryl & Co-oh wow; I loved sending these to my parents mostly because I enjoyed eating them also.

I also love that it is the one time of year where everyone loves each other. Everyone is so nice and caring, husbands clean the house for wives, and children make special heart cards for grandparents. Parties are attended with friends or alone time is spent with someone special. Bosses give out treats their staff, gaining support from and encouraging them to keep up the good work.

I hate what Valentine’s Day has come to stand for. I hate that it revolves around candy and flowers; spending money on expensive gifts or dinners out. After receiving many pricey items at Christmas, here comes another holiday that has taken on a money-spending notion. We end up buying up diamond earrings or bracelets, nice ties and wallets, cuddly big bears and plush Valentine pillows.

I hate that after I have jumped back on the dieting bandwagon-whoops, here comes another chocolate covered holiday. All of those yummy, ooey-gooey treats are creeping up to haunt me-just in a different candy colored coating. Instead of green and red it’s red and pink-M&M’s anyone? Because those are what are on every receptionists, secretaries and managers desks as welcome and thank you tokens.

Instead of a holiday layered with tradition, it is marketed towards money hungry chain stores and online bakeries. I have fallen for this too, I am not one of the few who have been able to stop the spending and make homemade gifts…I haven’t done that since I was a child.

Crafty moms decorate houses in construction paper and paint covered decorations. These are the people I admire; the ones who forgo spending and take their children onto a wonderful, multihued heart pounding ride upon the craft loving train. Good job moms!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

