Skip to content

I Love Most Fast Food…I Hate ALL the Calories

March 1, 2010

I don’t eat out that often so when I do get yummy goodness it is a treat for me. All of the French fries, burgers and milkshakes and even the delectable vegetable sandwiches. All of it I could eat daily and be perfectly happy.

I love eating at fast food restaurants. I love the French fries the most-really any potato. McDonald’s fries have to be the all-time greatest fries. Anywhere you go, they always taste the same-salty and hot; they are never greasy tasting or feeling like at Burger King. Yum! A close second of French fries is Chick-Fil-A waffle fries; there isn’t a Chick-Fil-A where I grew up, so they are new to me but quickly became my close second. They are thick cut fires, that don’t have too much salt, and just enough flavor. After the big stink that was made a few years ago about McDonald’s fries being boiled in beef fat, they have managed to come back to the top of the fry pack, with being fried in veggie oil and made them a seemingly healthier option than others.

I love Burger King’s Veggie Burger, it is so good. The Morningstar Farms garden burgers are some of the best out there-especially when bar-b-qed. It always is always tasty, with BK’s ketchup and mayo-I swear it always tastes better there I don’t know why-topped with veggies, fresh if you are lucky. Cheese makes it even better. It is so much better eating garden burgers from restaurants, whenever you don’t have to make something yourself it is great.

I love Subway and Quiznos veggie sandwiches. I love the bread they both use-fresh hand-made and baked in front of you. Mmm, all those veggies piled high with their special sauces. Subway with the added cucumber and spinach-I love the veggie patty from Subway also-and extra pickles and tomatoes. Quiznos huge bread, packed full of mushrooms, wow, just give me that with the guacamole. It comes with two pieces of cheese, olives, vinaigrette and guacamole. I love the guacamole. I would, and have, eaten this sandwich daily. I got it every night of my swing shift for weeks, enjoying it immensely.

Fast Food Stand Item Calories Fat (g) Carbs (g) Sodium (mg)
McDonald’s Fries-large 500 25 63 350
Chick-Fil-A Fries-large 430 23 50 210
Burger King Fries-med 440 22 22 670
Burger King Garden Burger 420 16 46 1100
Subway Veggie Delite-6 in 230 2.5 45 410
Quiznos Veggie-regular 760 43 63 1880

I hate all the calories in fast food. Why, or I should ask how, do they turn healthy foods into calorie gorging, mind numbing, salt laden ridiculousness? I mean, how does a large potato go from 281 calories with no fat and 21mg of sodium to minimum 430 calories and 210mg of sodium? What is all the “processed” goodness they put on these products that make them taste so delectable, but turn it so unhealthy?

I especially hate what Quiznos has done to the good ole vegetable sandwich. What in the world! Just the sub-not adding the cheese or dressing-is 460 calories. The vegetables do not add more that a 150 calories? Vegetables are “free” on most diets. Subways veggie sandwich is the same size-the bread isn’t as big-but is 530 calories less. That is disgusting, especially since I just wrote how I ate it every day. And that sucker isn’t cheap either. I am sure the chips and soda that I ate with it added to the calorie expenditure also.

And what about Taco Bells new drive thru diet? Is it just me or does this not seem possible…I have a friend who called Taco Bell the Gut Buster, because of the oil and fat laden foods gave you immediate stomach aches. The cheapest calorie wise is the Fresco Crunchy Taco for 150; the most expensive is a tie between the Fresco Bean Burrito and the Fresco Burrito Supreme Chicken with calories of 340, though the chicken wins the sodium award for 1410 mg. The normal everyday Supreme Chicken Burrito is 390 calories with 1420 mg sodium, I guess they just took the cheese off? They surely did nothing else to combat the grease and fat issues. Good try though, nice effort.

So, presumably the thing to do is eat Subway-I sound like Bob from Biggest Loser-and eat the fresh sandwiches. Gets kind of old though…What about you, do you have a trusty stand-by that is healthy? Did these numbers freak you out also? Let me know.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    March 22, 2010 7:26 pm

    I like subway’s veggie sub. The vegetables add a negligible amount of calories and the bread is usually good. I would stay away from Taco Bell, McDonalds, Chik-fil-a, Burger King, and Quiznos. It’s difficult to control the caloric intake at these places and feel full.

    Good luck.

    PS I’ve lost 40 lbs eating subway every now and then. Mostly, I’ve had to just eat produce and good food from the grocery store. Subway is my only “fast food” indulgence.

  2. December 1, 2010 7:36 pm

    of course when you dont have time to cook, fastfoods would always be the best option :;:

Leave a Reply

