Skip to content

I Love Losing Weight…I Hate Counting Calories

March 12, 2010

Seeing calories added up; watching your favorite foods equal up in your log. Healthy yummy foods, just as yummy not so good for you foods. Creating your own healthy recipe or copying one from a book. Tracking your weight loss on a spreadsheet. Feeling the success of all the hard work you have done finally paying off.

I love losing weight…who doesn’t though right? Seeing the scale go down and not ever seeing that horrible number again, even if it is just an ounce or two. Oh what a feeling. It is like a weight, no pun intended, has been lifted from you. After months or years of excess weight and excessive dieting, results are beginning to show.

I love losing weight the “right” way. Seeing the scale go down in small increments-two pounds or so a week-and making it official on my formal weigh in day. Watching my inches decrease, not as rapidly as pounds, by the quarter and half-inch at a time is exciting. Almost as exciting as the pound; people always say they don’t worry about pounds, just inches, but it is too hard for me to do. I have become a pound watcher, though it is exciting watching the pile of clothes I am accumulating that are too big.

I think it is interesting to find out how many calories is right for my body. There are different websites that give you similar calorie information, but I like this one from About.com. It asks simple questions, and wants to know what your goal weight is. That is what I need, an easy calorie count that helps me get to where I want to be weight wise. It told me that I need 2,185 calories a day, with how much I exercise, and I will reach my weight goal by September. I think that is cool, especially since it said I will reach that goal by losing one pound a week. Nice!

Something I have gotten into recently, and have posted about also, is restaurant calories. When trying to lose weight, and keeping in mind the 2,185 calories a day I can take in, eating at a sit-down or fast food restaurant doesn’t seem feasible. Feeling like some yummy Pizza Hut pizza? The Veggie Lovers Pizza has 310 calories for one slice…WHAT, for a slice? How about the Veggie Pizza appetizer at Applebees? 10 inches of pizza is 906 calories. Again, wow, you try to do good, getting the veggie pizza and still-there goes the good eating. Now I know, I don’t have to eat the whole thing-portion control and all that- and 310 calories won’t kill the diet, but jeez it just makes it harder.

I hate counting calories. You think I would be used to it by now, since prior to gastric bypass surgery my nutritionist made me keep a food journal so I could review my eating with her. I am not good at it at all. I start out great; I buy a new notebook so I can have something totally dedicated to my calories. It sits on the counter so I can just open it and write in it. But the silly thing only lasts two to three days. I just can’t do it.

I hate adding everything up that goes into whatever it is you are eating. Some things are simple-packaged oatmeal, cereal and milk, box of mac ‘n cheese. But when you are making a “healthy” sandwich or making a recipe that does not have the calorie count or even counting up all the calories in the fruit you put into your fruit smoothie. It just takes too much time; especially when you then have to divide it up into servings. Everything going into your recipe, no matter what you are making, is a calorie. It gets discouraging seeing it all totaled up.

I also hate the portion sizes on packages. Sheesh, remembering to look to see the serving size as you are writing down your calories, what a hassle. Why does the package or drink have to equal more than one? Shouldn’t it all be a “single” serving? And what if the can of tomato sauce for the enchiladas says 2 ½ servings? Or the soy sauce on your stir fry-1 tsp per serving, all that measuring.

I also hate hunting down all the calories. I found a great site that lets you record all of your daily calorie intake and your daily weight-as I have said I am not good at the recording even when it is free online either. BUT, it does have huge lists of foods and the calorie content of everything. I hate that I have to go looking for everything though. An orange-a small, medium or large. Sheesh. And wow, who knew that a regular sized pear had 103 calories, or a cup of grapes has close to 200 calories. Yikes. I do like this site for the big lists of foods.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 2:34 pm

    Burger king breakfast sandwich 560 calories! I am staying away from fast food period!

  2. March 12, 2010 3:21 pm

    I suggest you read French Women Don’t Get Fat by Mireille Guillano. I’m reading it now and realizing how French women don’t put so much into counting calories. They drink wine and eat well, yet they practice the art of restraint and prefer preparing meals at home instead of eating out.

  3. March 12, 2010 6:55 pm

    I am putting that on my list this weekend. I think also french women dont eat the large portions Americans tend to eat.

  4. March 13, 2010 6:52 pm

    It has changed my way of thinking about food. I try to eat more slowly and enjoy the flavor of foods I like, and I enjoy my wine more. I drink about 1 to 2 glasses a day. My clothes are getting looser despite the wine and the rich food (kept to a minimum). I finished half the book, and it makes a lot of good sense.

Leave a Reply

