Skip to content

I Love Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown…I Hate Her Dirty Feet

March 17, 2010

Okay, I admit going into the Yoga Meltdown workout video leery of what to expect from her. The front of the video claims to help me lose up to five pounds a week. That is a serious declaration for a yoga workout. 

I love Jillian Michaels as much as I hate her. She is what you want in a trainer. You love working out with her, but you hate how she kicks your butt. And is it just me or has she gone through a transformation looks wise. The cover of the Shred video is a manly Jillian, and she definitely got a new stylist, because she is beautiful on the covers. She also has gone through a body makeover. You can tell with the huge success of Biggest Loser that she has put in more workouts to tone herself up, because her abs and arms are extraordinarily muscular. 

I loved this yoga DVD. She does normal yoga poses, but makes you do them as power poses. Wow, did she make my arms hurt. She makes you hold a push-up position close to the floor, and I am telling you I have never felt my deltoid muscle, the upper arm-not-quite-shoulder area, before in my life. She also did lunge moves and then hold the deep lunge pose, and half-moon poses and hold on one arm. Ouch! 

I love how she does circuit training and that she has different levels of intensity. Jillian’s circuit training gets your heart pumping, muscles burning and sweat dripping. The yoga was no different. She made me sweat as much in this workout as she did in her other videos. At the beginning with the warm up, I thought she was going to just be wussy, but she did mega moves that get you sweating. 

I hate her dirty feet. Yep, silly I know. I didn’t talk pretty much through the entire video, it was that tough. But when we got to the cool-down, there were her feet-brown and dirty as can be-staring at me on the big ole flat screen TV. Why, as the set and styling designers, wouldn’t you immediately stop filming and wash her feet? And, if her feet are stained that color, why wouldn’t they put socks on her, since she is pretty much teaching the video. 

I hate her for not doing the actual physical workout. I understand that she needs to demonstrate the moves by having the “girls” going through the motions and her stand over them talking about proper form, but that doesn’t mean she can’t do the entire second part of the workout. You only workout one side of your body at a time, she can prove she is everyone’s toughest trainer by doing it with me. I don’t want to be told what to do, I want her to show me. 

Yep, this is Jillian

 

I also hate when she says she isn’t that flexible. She has obviously been doing yoga and stretching to be able to do this video with proper form and intensity, so she can bend to touch her toes. I will say she has improved since the Shred when she could only touch her knees. In this video she stood up straight with her foot in her hand and pushed it out parallel to the ground and held it there. Good girl Jillian, don’t say negative things right?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    March 17, 2010 8:14 pm

    You’re going to give Jillian a run for her money! You go girl – you are an inspiration!

  2. Linda permalink
    March 17, 2010 8:15 pm

    You’re going to give Jillian a run for her money!

  3. March 18, 2010 11:40 am

    You’re funny, but I didn’t see any dirt feet on Level 2. I have yet to try Level 1.

  4. April 2, 2010 5:05 pm

    I’m A 24 yr. Old Female And Today Was My First Day Using This DVD And Let Me Say It Really Kicked My Butt. I’ve Only Done Level One And I Was Sweating Like Crazy. This Is The Year I Decided To Change My Life So January 1st I Started A Workout Plan 5 Days A Week So I’m Not Really A Beginner But I Am 215lbs So It Was A Little Hard In A Good Way. This Was A Lot Better Then My Other Workouts I Do. I Say Get It And Try It Out If You Don’t Like It Then Return It. If You Are Sick Of Being The Fat Girl Like Me You’ll Stick With It And Lose That Weight You See In The Mirror Everyday That You Just Can’t Stand. I Will Write Another Review In 30 Days To Let Everyone Know How It Went And If I Lost Any Weight. Take Care And Good Luck

    annie

Leave a Reply

