Skip to content

I Love Running…I Hate Not Having Proper Music

March 21, 2010

Feeling the burn, knowing you are going a distance you haven’t before. Making it up past the tree line you haven’t been able to pass before. Feeling your legs work, your mind turned off, your arms pumping and your heart rate being in the zone as you lose yourself to the world and push yourself to keep going; all for that awesome runners high when you are done.

I love running. It is my new favorite workout. I never did it before, I tried after the surgery on the treadmill but it was boring to me. I am not an outdoor person, so it never occurred to me to go outside and run on the road. Having to slather on the sunscreen and remembering my shades, hmm seemed like too much work. Running outside in the open air, it just feels right though. It is fun, though watching for a car is kind of annoying-isn’t there some kind of common sense rule for the driver? You see a runner, don’t try to hit them? Hmm. And who knew that going over the driveway dividers in subdivisions was so difficult?

Running is something you can lose your mind in. You are not paying attention to the teacher in your step class, focusing on your knees being over your ankles while squatting in the sculpting class, nor are you focused on keeping up with the workout tape you are watching. Getting lost in your head is something that running delivers. Feeling stressed or sorry for yourself, hard day at work, kids at home talking non-stop, husband getting on your nerves-go running and you work it out. You think non-stop about what is going on in your life, calm down if you are anxious-cry if needed-and steady and ready yourself for what is to come next.

I also love how running makes my body feel. I have learned, quite quickly, that you cannot do a workout before you run if you want to finish your run. I did Jillian Michael’s Shred #1 about three hours before my two-mile run-nope didn’t finish it and I was mad. My upper thighs were hurting so bad, right at the thigh-hip bone area. So now I do my run before another workout, preferably running then getting home and doing Ab Jam or Pilates for Dummies. That way I workout my whole body, without sacrificing my running time.

I hate not having proper running music. Or not even knowing that while out running that it is wrong. Why is it that when you are driving around town or going to work, you can lose yourself in your music? It doesn’t matter if you are listening to the radio, cd’s or your iPod, just that your mind goes somewhere else, you are singing at the top of your lungs no care in the world and suddenly you are at where you were going.

I hate not knowing how many beats in a song you need to get through a run. I was reading a lot last summer in fitness magazines about beats in music and how it helps you keep the pace of the workout. I guess that is why in step and aerobic classes at the gym they have a remix of the song, more of a dance club mix then the normal song.

According to Dr. Costas Karageorghis, an associate professor of sport psychology at Brunel University in England, who has studied the effects of music on physical performance for 20 years, runners should be looking for music that has 120 to 140 beats-per-minute. He also says, that the beats-per-minute for music matches up with a persons heart rate while working out.

Here are some songs that I like, and some from Runner’s World Magazine and Life123.com:

Kings of Leon Sex on Fire Justin Timberlake SexyBack
Rihanna Umbrella-Remix Kelly Clarkson My Life Would Suck Without You
Britney Spears Toxic Nelly Furtado Promiscuous
Lady Gaga Paparazzi Queen Another One Bites the Dust
Big & Rich Save a Horse Ride a Cowboy Maroon 5 Harder to Breathe
One Comment leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 12:50 pm

    Great article Megan, I’m so glad that you have found a new outlet that you love. I used to hate running and the feelings of failure I associated with it, but as I’ve gotten older I’ve found it to be my perfect way of dealing with things. I’ve overcome some horrible breakups, one or two very bad judgement calls and a few personal losses I never thought I’d recover from by relying on nothing more than my strength, some much needed solitude and sheer determination. It never ceases to amaze me what I’m capable of or the incredible feeling I get after a really great run. My newest found joy in running comes from sharing this joy with my children, they might be young now [3 & 4] but I know if they find a love for running early on, it will hopefully last them a lifetime … going to download Harder to Breathe, I love that song never would have thought of it for running.

Leave a Reply

