Skip to content

I Love Walking…I Hate Not Being Motivated

April 10, 2010

Walking is a gentle, low-impact exercise that can help ease you into a level of fitness that will aid your health and well-being. Walking is one of your body’s most natural forms of exercise. It’s safe, simple and doesn’t require practice. 

I love walking. I don’t mind if the parking lot is full, though if it is raining well I do find myself driving around waiting for the person who walks out the door when I need them to. I don’t mind taking a walk around the Botanical Gardens and smelling the flowers now, way back when my calves would have burned and my shins would have fits if I did that. I love strolling through foreign cities as I see the beautiful sites. 

US Capitol, DC

 

I love the benefits of walking. Obviously who doesn’t want to lose weight, and if you do it correctly and get a good sweat in, it can help take the weight off with good eating habits. But beyond that clear benefit, walking helps to strengthen your heart, can decrease the risk of breast cancer and colon cancer, can alleviate the symptoms of depression and can even help cognitive functions. Walking helps to lower you bad cholesterol and raise your good, but it also helps lower your blood pressure-getting out of the house away from the craziness and spending time alone, it is the perfect mini getaway. 

I love doing a walking cardio workout tape at night while watching TV shows. Leslie Sansone is my go-to workout walker, she does walking tapes that you don’t need to watch on the big screen for-just pop her into your laptop computer and sit her where you can see her and boom, you are on your way to a brisk 45 minute walk…right there in your living room. I have done almost all her videos and she works you out good no matter which mile you are on. I recently did the 5 Mile Fat Burning Walk, and whew my heart rate was up and I was sweating like a pig. Definitely a workout to do often. I have used Leslie as my plateau buster. Even though Jillian and Chalene worked me out I hit the dreaded ole plateau, and yes Leslie helped me bust through. Thanks to all the ladies! 

Calories burned in one hour at different body weights

Calories burned per hour at different body weights 
Walking 110 lbs. 125 lbs. 150 lbs. 175 lbs. 200 lbs.
Strolling less than 2 mph, level 100 114 136 159 182
Moderate pace about 3 mph 175 199 239 278 318
Brisk pace about 3.5 mph 200 227 273 318 364
Very brisk pace about 4.5 mph 225 256 307 358 409
Moderate pace about 3 mph, uphill 300 341 409 477 545

  

I hate not being motivated to walk. Okay I have been pretty up front about my previous lack of working out…that includes walking. I was the person that would drive around for an extra 20 minutes looking for a close parking spot to a store rather than park in the back forty-or even the mid forty. Who wants to walk places when it is easier, and quicker, to drive there. We spend all our money on nice looking, cool cars-hey, we want to drive those suckers. 

I hate that walking is boring. Unlike running and jogging, where you are hyped to beat your previous mile time and you know you can do 2.06 miles in 22 minutes and be back at the house ready to do whatever you want, walking obviously isn’t that fast. If you only walk outside, or the treadmill, if you don’t have good music to keep your mind occupied, all I ever do is think about getting back to the house. It is just boring to me. I don’t know what the difference between a good job and a power-walk are in my head, but I can’t lose myself in the walk. 

 

I hate not being the person who jumps up during commercials and does some squats or lunges. I never found this motivating before, I still don’t, but if you watch your favorite show at the same time as you a walking tape, then you have no excuses. The best shows I have found to watch are Biggest Loser, because it is motivational and American Idol, because you can sing along but also play judge and jury to the contestants.  I also like Kirstie Alley’s new reality show-more on that at a later date-she is going through what everyone does, losing weight then regaining it, but as a celebrity.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 9:57 am

    I’ve heard a lot of girls like the Leslie Sansone dvds. Maybe I’ll give them a try.

    • April 14, 2010 3:29 pm

      Hi Bethany, you should definitaly try Leslie Sansone walking DVDs. She is so low impact that you don’t know an hour and five miles has passed. If you try it, let me know what you though!

Leave a Reply

