Skip to content

I Love Clif Bars…I Hate Luna Bars

April 14, 2010

“We love food”-the Clif Bar & Company motto. Good food provides health, joy, and energy, and is a delight to the senses. And food, made right, can make the world a better place. Clif recognizes that food matters to our families, our communities, and our planet-as our food choices affect the physical, social and environmental fabric of our lives.

I love Clif Bars. I had never had them before, but my sister-in-law bought some a few months back, so I gave them a shot.  I didn’t want to try them because the calorie count was so high, but as a meal replacement with a piece of fruit or some veggies it is perfect. I eat one about an hour before I go running and it gets me through without leaving me starving and wanting to eat the house when I get back.

I love the Crunchy Peanut Butter one. It is absolutely amazing and the Oatmeal Raisin Walnut one isn’t bad either. I gave up chocolate last year for lent, so it is hard for me to find a snack bar or meal replacement bar that does not have any on it. Thankfully the Clif Bar comes in a few different varieties, though a couple taste to sugary for me-the Spiced Pumpkin Pie and Carrot Cake ones.

I love that the Clif Bar brand is mostly organic. Clif uses almost all organic ingredients in all of their products, and they have no trans fat, hydrogenated oils or high fructose corn syrup. Clif says that “mostly” organic means that 70% of the bar is organic, but ingredients like sea salt and citric acid don’t come in organic. It makes me feel better knowing that a yummy bar is healthy all the way around. They were also certified as a Green Business because they recognize the importance of being a Zero Waste company, meaning they try to find ways to make their company make less of a negative impact on the world.

I hate the Luna Bar. I realize that Clif makes the Luna Bar, but they fell mighty short in the taste and quality department. They are too dense, meaning it feels like you are biting into cardboard with the first chomp. The texture just is on the wrong side of good, the crispiness feels stale when sink your teeth into it. I want to like them, because they are Clif brand, but it is rough.

I hate that they aren’t as flavorful as other snack bars. And it is a snack bar, they aren’t meant as a meal replacement bar. I tried a few flavors, and by far the Peanut Butter Cookie is the best, but there is really not a pb flavor to it. It is like they used as little peanut butter as possible, just so they could call it PB Cookie. I understand using organic flavors, but I don’t understand how the original Clif brand makes amazingly flavorful bars and snacks but Luna has practically no flavor and a cardboard crunch.

What saves the Luna from being an all-time hate, is they are made almost specifically for women and they are very supportive of breast cancer awareness. Luna supports the Breast Cancer Fund in their effort to “find and eliminate the environmental and other preventative causes of the disease”. I want to like them just for these reasons; I want to help support a cause that is close to all of us, one that could strike at any moment. I just don’t know if this bar is how I can do that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 9:45 am

    I’m a Clif Bar lover for life!! If they sold shirts, I would wear them when i ran. I love them so much, Clif asked me to try the childrens version to see if my kids liked them. My only problem with them was I loved them so much I had a hard time sharing – they are AMAZING!! Even better than Clif bars. I had no idea Luna way made by Clif until Megan told me, but YUCK! They are not my favorite. Maybe luna bars should taste more like Clif Kid bars, then you’d have to shove me out of the way at the store to get your own 🙂

    Great job Megan, you really nailed the description on what eating a luna bar tastes like.

    • April 14, 2010 3:31 pm

      Hi Stacy, thanks for the insight into the Clif Kid bars-with a Clif name on it it should taste awesome. And made for kids, it should be a great snack bar also.

Leave a Reply

