Skip to content

I Love Going to the Movies…I Hate the Calorific Popcorn

April 17, 2010

Sitting in the dark and getting spooked with the person next to you. Watching the CGI effects light up the screen, blowing our minds with monsters, huge robots, space ships and earth ending volcanoes. Crying over the sadness of mothers losing children, men going off to war or the sweet romance of true love.

I love going to the movies. I love getting there early, getting the best seat in the house-the very top in the middle-and sitting back ready to be entertained for two hours. The trailers for movies are the best part for me-I cannot miss them; getting to see the new movies in their finest and deciding if it is worth going to see, because sometimes the trailer shows the only good parts of the movie.

I love the summer months when the big blockbuster movies come out. It is usually the loudest and with the most special affects-but that is what makes a great film! I think the specials effects people are amazing to be able to manipulate computers and come up with flying cars, monsters and mermaids, and spaceships. They have so much imagination it is remarkable. And the money that goes into the movie-I would be livid if I was the producer and my movie bombed!

Obviously I am not the only person who loves going to the movies. It is not cheap anymore-even the matinée isn’t. How, in the downturn of the economy do the movie companies get away with charging an arm and a leg to get into the movie? It costs $9.50 to just get in, $6.50 for a matinée, how ridiculous. We pay it though, it is our only chance to get out of our heads, lives and realities and sit down someplace and know you won’t be bothered and enjoy the scenery. According to a story in the NY Times  in 2009, ticket sales went up 17.5 percent last year, to $1.7 billion, reported by Media by Numbers, a box-office tracking company. WOW!

Below are my picks for the upcoming summer movies found from Fandango:

May 7 Iron Man 2 – Robert Downey, Jr – The superhero must forge new alliances and confront a powerful enemy.
May 14 Robin Hood – Russell Crowe- Expert archer Robin Hood leads a band of marauders to lead an uprising against the English Crown.
May 21 Shrek Forever After– Mike Myers- Shrek finds himself in a twisted version of Far Far Away, where he and Fiona have never met.
May 28 Sex and the City 2 – Sarah Jessica Parker- Carrie crosses paths with Aiden while on vacation with the gals in Abu Dhabi.
May 28 Prince of Persia – Jake Gyllenhaal – A prince must stop a despot from unleashing a sandstorm that could destroy all mankind.
June 30 The Twilight Saga: Eclipse – Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson-Bella finds herself stuck in a love triangle between Edward, and her friend, Jacob. The Cullen Clan and the werewolf pack must unite together to protect themselves from the new dangers that lie ahead.
July 23 Salt – Angelina Jolie- Centers on a CIA officer who is accused of being a Russian sleeper spy.

 

I hate movie theatre popcorn…okay, well I hate to love it anyway. I eat it to my heart’s content-which is the largest popcorn I can get. I can never finish it, but due to my lack of observation during movie watching I tend to eat too much anyway. Also, I have a weird inner voice that says I will regret not getting the biggest popcorn available-like 20 cups of popcorn is what I need. Grr.

I hate paying out the nose for my popcorn. Not only are we being gouged in the side by ticket prices, we have to pay premium prices for freakishly salted and buttered non-name brand popcorn. Why should I be paying about $7-$8 for popcorn? Especially when I know it doesn’t cost the theater more than a few pennies to pop it, and a buck to buy it?

I hate the calories that have gone in to making popcorn taste so dang good. Really, this calorie bomb of a good meal-and yes it is a meal-is too much. I never thought of what my popcorn calorie count actually came out to, I knew it was big but wow. I would always go at a time when it would take place of my actual meal, just because I wanted to justify eating the huge popcorn and slushee. But seeing the facts put in front of my face-I will be bringing my own treats with me. I don’t even want to do the math of the large popcorn numbers-the smalls are scary enough. The sodium is outrageous, isn’t that close to my daily allotment? Ugh!

 Regal

AMC 
Cinemark*
Small-11 Cups Small-6 Cups Small-8 Cups
670 Calories 370 Calories 420 Calories
34g Sat Fat 20g Sat Fat 2g Sat Fat
550mg Sodium 210mg Sodium 690mg Sodium

 *Cinemark uses nonhydrogenated canola oil, which slashes the sat fat content: Source Science in the Public Interest as seen in Women’s Health Magazine.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 11:23 pm

    Keep working ,great job!

  2. October 30, 2010 6:03 pm

    Sarah Jessice Parker is very pretty but she does not have a flawless skin complexion “

Leave a Reply

