Skip to content

I Love Organic Foods…I Hate the Price Tag of Organics

April 19, 2010

Food is amazing. When you smell the herbs that go into making spaghetti sauce or the Asian spices of a good stir fry, you can’t help but want to eat too much. Being able to taste the sweetness of a good pear or the tartness of a kiwi, man I am making myself hungry! If I can buy all the stuff that goes into my fave dishes organic- organic food is food grown and processed using no synthetic fertilizers or pesticides-then more healthy power to me.

I love buying organic food. I love shopping at healthy food stores-Whole Foods and H.E.B Central Market-and farmer’s markets. It is fun going in and seeing that farmers have taken on the responsibility of healthifying Americans, and doing a great job at getting a wide variety. Now don’t get me wrong, organic foods can be found in a regular food store, but there is just something about shopping in a specialty store or at a market. Also, roaming through a healthy food store you see foods you may not have known existed-or at least have only read about in cookbooks-gooseberries, fennel, tomatillo, bok choy or broccoli rabe.

Top 12 Foods to Buy Organic:

Peaches
Apples
Sweet Peppers
Celery
Nectarines
Strawberries
Cherries
Kale
Leafy Greens
Grapes
Carrots
Pears

I love knowing that the food I am taking in has not been altered in any way. It is a scary knowing that the foods that are put into our bodies have nasty, disgusting pesticides and who knows what else on them. According to the EPA, laboratory studies show that pesticides can cause health problems, such as birth defects, nerve damage, cancer, and other effects that might occur over a long period of time. Of course it depends on the amount of toxicity in the pesticide, but yuck!

I also love knowing that my soy and tofu products come organic. I know it is weird, but for those vegetarian out there you know what I mean. We go veg so we don’t have to deal with bird flu or cow diseases, but don’t really think about our soy products needing to be kept safe. I am thankful for those brands that have put me first by going organic.

I hate the price of organic food items. Farmer’s markets aren’t that cheap. I buy it when I go-which isn’t often-because I feel guilty if I don’t buy from them. It is hard times for everyone so I know it is even worse for a farmer trying to keep his crops from being outsourced to other countries. I just wish that since they aren’t using harmful chemicals the price would be equivalent to the pesticide ridden products. Also, buying food at Whole Foods or other healthy food stores is only a treat to me, because it is so expensive. The normal everyday grocery stores are, thankfully, a little better priced on some items, but not always.

Top 15 Clean Foods:
 Onion
Avocado
Sweet Corn
Pineapple
Mango
Asparagus
Sweet Peas
Kiwi
Cabbage
Eggplant
Papaya
Watermelon
Broccoli
Tomato
Sweet Potato

I hate the price tag that is put on organic foods. Seriously, do the blueberries that come in the very tiny container have to be $5.00? I mean, they are expensive anyways at $2.99 for the darn little thing. Or organic yogurt-why does my yogurt have to be $1.09 for one container, when I can buy a six pack of Activia for $2.50? It is just shocking seeing the price discrepancy between these items, I would so buy more of the organic items if they were comparably priced.

I also hate that I can’t find the top items to be bought organic in a normal store, making me go to the high priced stores. The top organic foods I normally see in the stores are not even on that list. I have seen organic radishes, spinach, tofu and milk. So it goes without saying, but I will, that if I can’t find it in my normal store other people can’t find it either. If we can’t find it, we then are supposed to go to farmer’s markets and special stores. Again, we have to pay the higher prices. Kind of a circle thing, huh? Always end up back at a market.

Don’t know where to find a farmer’s market in your area? Check the site localharvest.org for your closest one.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 7:32 pm

    organic foods are the best for our health since they are free from dangerous chemicals and toxins .”

Leave a Reply

