Skip to content

I Love Having a Workout Partner…I Hate Losing Her

May 16, 2010

My workout partner and me

 

Workout partners are special. They are people who tell you to get up off your butt and do it; who pushes you into running because she knows you will be good at it; believes you have it in you when you don’t and they share the highs and lows of weight loss and gain. 

I love having a workout partner. My sister-in-law, my workout partner, knows I am the type of person who needs someone to push her. Seriously, I am lazy when I don’t have someone at my ear pushing me or who wants the same thing I do. I always visualize myself doing the Jillian’s 30 day Shred, doing jumping jacks and push-ups for 30 minutes, but do I get their during the day without that push? Nope, laziness in the extreme. 

I love having that sounding board. My sounding board is very supportive, always there to tell me I am being an idiot when I gain a few ounces-or pounds-and reassures me that, yes strength training will increase not only my muscles but my weight. I know strength is necessary but sheesh, it still gets me that the scale raises! She also takes really good measurements, to good because they are right every time. I wish she would lie to me sometimes; an inch more in my abs? It isn’t right, I know it! 

I love having the support of a workout partner. I like having someone who can do the same intensity that I can, who is thinking the same thing about which workout video to do that day-it goes between Chalene’s Turbo Jam and Jillian’s Banish Fat Boost Metabolism-and who doesn’t mind getting up during Biggest Loser and finishing our last chance workout with a 3 or 5 mile walk. That support and push is what we all need; the kick in the butt to get you moving. 

Adorable!

 

I hate losing my workout partner. Okay, I didn’t lose her but I moved away from her. Man, after eleven years in the Air Force my sister-in-law knows how to run for long periods and do serious exhaustion to my arm muscles at the gym. She made my wing muscles-the muscles where your arm and shoulder meet-hurt so badly that I couldn’t even pick up my one-year old nephew. That is severe because I carried that boy around even when he didn’t want to be. She was the shove, not even a push, that kept me moving forward on the positive path to a good body image-which I did not have until I had her. 

I hate not having her next to me keeping me in line. I have been without her for three-very long-weeks, and have not been doing good. I cannot seem to get myself in control. It was like I went on vacation, which I am not on, and lost my ever-loving mind. My eating and portion control have seemed to hide in a space that I can’t for the life of me find. My exercising has been good, the treadmill has become my new best friend and the bike my frenemy. But the workout videos, which had been godsends, now sit with dust because I have fallen off the darned wagon. 

I hate not having a good eating partner. It is rough when you don’t eat right. I think throughout the day, that hey I am doing good. This bagel isn’t that bad, this smoothie doesn’t have all that many calories or eating dinner so late at night is not horrible. Really, after a year of eating right and having it finally start to click in my head and pay off on the scale, to suddenly turn tail and slide backwards is terrible. I want to eat right; I want to eat salads and fruit and eat an appropriate dinner. But not having the healthy like-minded eating partner isn’t easy. Especially when she is a healthy-cooking queen, though she does need someone to cut her fruit for her. 

Now don’t get me wrong. I have a workout partner. A bride-to-be, who is amazing and wonderful; a woman who has listened to my tactless mouth more than needed over the years and person who will defend you to the end. My cousin Joanna is awesome and I moved to Cali to help her prepare for her wedding, by bringing my Jillian-like mind to kick her into gear. Being the inspiration is tough though, when I seem to be falling myself. I will get into gear though, because I have a goal weight in mind, and I’ll be dammed if I won’t reach it by her wedding date. I WILL look good in my knee-length watermelon bridesmaid dress. 

If you need an inspirational person, someone like my sister-in-law…well you can have her also. She can be found at kidsstuffworld.com, giving family, craft and recipe advice like the good mommy she is.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    May 16, 2010 7:41 pm

    Excellent article. I hadn’t really thought about ‘workout partners’ before, but I know that I do better when someone else is as ‘on board’ as I am – I can’t count on myself to follow through on dieting or exercising. Good Luck!!

Leave a Reply

