Skip to content

I Love Yogurt…I Hate Not Knowing Which is Best

June 3, 2010

We all know it is good for us, but did you know it has been around for more than 4,500 years? Did you know the word comes from a Turkish word? That it is produced by bacterial fermentation of milk?  Or how about that it is heated to 80° C to kill bad bacteria, and that after it is heated the milk proteins are changed so it can set together rather than forming curds?

I love yogurt. I know it is silly, but with so many health benefits and being full of calcium and vitamin B12 you can’t help but love it also. The calcium in yogurt, along with adequate nutrition and a good dose of vitamin D, can help the prevention of osteoporosis. And the probiotics in yogurts now are said to be extra good for your digestion, which is what Activia touts anyway. Also, with the organic craze right now one brand is ahead of the game. Stonyfield Farms has put out organic yogurts since the early 80’s long before anyone knew or cared about healthy animals for food.

I love the taste and texture of yogurt. I have never liked cottage cheese because it is weird, with the curds in it…gave me the willies when I ate it. Yogurt though, they got that one right with the solid texture that is creamy and seems to melt in your mouth. Yogurts now come in so many flavors and textures. Have you tried the “whipped” yogurt from Yoplait? That one was a little too fluffy for me, kind of like a thick mousse. I have tried most yogurt brands and I have to say I love them all. Strawberry, lemon even some vanilla flavors are my faves, but I don’t like when there are chunks of fruit in it. I like adding fresh fruit to my yogurt, but I don’t like the chunks already in it-or the fruit on the bottom, it is like sugared slime.

I love soy yogurt. I know some people are skeeved out by the thought of anything soy-my brother says you can’t call anything soy meat because it isn’t a meat…hmph-but wow, it has all the same flavor and texture as cow milk yogurt. It also has the same health benefits of regular yogurt with calcium and vitamins. The brand WholeSoy & Co is good, it has some different flavors then the Silk brand, and it has some organic ingredients in it so that is an added benefit also.

I hate not knowing which is best. Aren’t all yogurts the same? Most of them all now have added probiotics, the same flavors and textures and the same health benefits. So really what is the difference between them, besides the brand? The calorie and fats are the same, calcium and Vitamin D. Should organics make a difference? Should soy? I don’t know, but I have heard that Greek yogurt is the only way to go because it has a higher protein count per ounce. So is that the best? I have never tried Greek yogurt, so I can’t even say which brand of that is best or if low fat or regular is better.

If things are added-vitamin D, probiotics-are they really better for you? If things, even things that are good for you, are added to a food item are they all that much better for you? Is it healthy to add something, even supposedly good for you healthy? AND there is high fructose corn syrup in yogurt, how does that make it good for you, when all reports say don’t eat corn syrup?

I hate how expensive yogurts are. My faves of the soy brands are close to a dollar apiece. Really, nothing that comes in a small container is worth that much money. And the prices of regular milk yogurt aren’t all that cheap either. The prices on those keep going up also. Why has the Yoplait that I used to buy all the time, which a few years ago were around 25 cents for 6 ounces, gone up to 50 cents. Sheesh, doubled in price for a little calcium and protein. Is it really worth it?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    June 3, 2010 8:07 pm

    I really like the fruit-type yogurt, and I like adding some crunchy cereal for a nice low-cal, low-fat breakfast. So far I prefer Yoplait; haven’t tried any of the Soy though but am anxious to find healthy alternatives.

  2. June 5, 2010 3:17 am

    Hello, I found you from Blogfrog.Thank you for sharing nice blog.

    please join my community and visit my blog if you have chance for exchange our Quality time!

    http://theblogfrog.com/1233755
    http://beonefineday.blogspot.com

    Have a great day.
    Nan

  3. caz223 permalink
    January 11, 2012 5:58 am

    The best kind is homemade yogurt, cheap, easy, and you can make it exactly how you like it-fat free, soy or whole milk.

Leave a Reply

