Skip to content

I Love Smoothies…I Hate Good Calories Gone Bad

June 6, 2010

Strawberry, banana and vanilla; pineapple, mango and peach; chocolate, peanut butter and banana; blue berry, raspberry, strawberry and cherry-these are some of my favorite flavors and add-ins.

I love smoothies, or as my niece and nephew call it “ice cream drink”. I love being able to add a bunch of fruit to a drink and know that I have suddenly gotten my fruit intake for the day without trying to make meal plans. Adding yogurt and soymilk, even silken tofu, for added protein it all adds up to make a great drink on a summer day. And you guessed it, I am eating one while I write this-a frozen strawberry with vanilla yogurt and soy milk-mmmmm.

I love being able to have add-ins that are healthy and good for you. My mom is a huge fan of blueberry and tofu smoothies. Silken tofu, or extra soft, is such a great healthy protein option as an add-in, and it adds no flavor but great texture. Adding flaxseed is also a great one; flaxseed is very good as an Omega-3 essential fatty acid, a great plant-based way of getting it; it also has soluble and insoluble fiber and helps to fight against some cancers. Yep, an add-in I can blend with. Another add-in that I have only had at Jamba Juice is a green tea smoothie. Green tea has long been associated with weight loss, so hey-why not add it! I haven’t tried it personally yet, but this recipe sounds really good and easy.

I love that it makes a lot of smoothies. I haven’t really gotten the whole making it for one thing in cooking yet, and it hasn’t gotten easier with smoothies. Luckily they freeze great. I make a huge blender full of my current favorite recipe, split it up into as many cups as possible and then freeze. Depending on which cups are clean at the time, and how hungry I am when I make it first and if I am sharing, I can get between three and five glasses. That is good, because the next day I pop it into the microwave for 20 seconds and there is my healthful breakfast or late night snack with no guilt!

I hate that good calories go bad  in smoothies. No it isn’t like I add ice cream or whole fat milk to my smoothies but when you start adding in sugary fruits like pineapple and mangos to your tropical smoothie things start to go awry. Also, if you add sweeteners to your smoothie-honey, Splenda or sugar-it is all a guessing game when making it. No real measuring, so do you really know how much sweetener you are putting in it? You start adding protein into the smoothie with peanut butter-oh, sweet peanut butter-and there goes the neighborhood. I can’t stop with just one spoonful.

I hate the shops that sell smoothies and they are high calories. I was a real lover of Jamba Juice. I always had their Peanut Butter Moo’d, which is 770 calories for the original; I justified it by having it during my strength or step class at the gym-pointless eating that many calories when I was meaning to burn that many. Yes they have light smoothies, but they use frozen yogurt and fruit juices in them-juice is sugar also. Smoothie King is loaded with calories; they should call themselves Kings of Sugar Drinks. The Cranberry Cooler is 496 calories, wow, and that is just for 20 ounces. I can understand smoothies with chocolate, peanut butter or coffee in the name having more calories. But if it is called Light & Fluffy it should not have 395 calories in 20 ounces.

And what about power smoothies, are they all that healthy? When you start adding in protein powders does that even help? Slim-Fast ready-made drinks or the powder are meant to be taken alone or with a piece of fruit. If you just add a scoop of the powder to your blender full of fruit and add some milk, are you even getting the protein from the scoop? Wouldn’t it just be better to add the peanut butter, or almond butter I have heard is even better for you. Food for thought right?

Do you have a great smoothie recipe? I would love to hear it!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    June 6, 2010 3:13 pm

    Fresh strawberries blended with soft tofu, non-fat milk and Splenda makes a great breakfast drink. Pretty low-cal, and filling too.

  2. June 6, 2010 3:38 pm

    Thats why I love using my Shakeology. I know exactly what’s in it and I can add in PB2 and a banana and its like a milkshake but with all the veggies I need for the day. Yum!

    My kids and I also like to make a smoothie with 1 cup of organic vanilla yog., 1 cup blueberries and 1 banana. Heaven in a jar. lol

    • June 6, 2010 7:20 pm

      Thank you for the info on Shakeology, I had never heard of it but if I can get my veggies in with my fruits and make it taste good, it is definitaly worth the try. And your recipe sounds really good, I will be trying that soon. Thanks!

  3. June 21, 2010 11:43 pm

    Skipping breakfast does not lead to weight loss, which often leads to the opposite. Your weight, if you skip breakfast, because you tend to eat more calories during the day.
    You want breakfast to start your metabolism, so you energy. A car does not run empty and your body. Filling the car with petrol, and just watch. It’s the same with your body to feed a healthy breakfast.

  4. 2mannasisters permalink
    June 28, 2010 3:10 pm

    We love smoothies too! Great thoughts about how the calories are rampant at smoothie joints. I’ve started to make my own and add in protein powder and sometimes Sun Butter too when I’m in the mood for that taste. I just posted a recipe today in fact. Check it out!

    –Marla

    • June 28, 2010 8:17 pm

      Hi, thanks for the heads up about Sun Butter, hadn’t thought of that. I will definitely check out your smoothie recipe.

  5. Eli permalink
    February 4, 2012 7:28 pm

    2 Kiwis, a bunch of grapes, 1 banana, 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk. Tastes amazing!

Leave a Reply

