Skip to content

I Love Losing It…I Hate it Only Being 1 Hour

June 10, 2010

Totally screaming and cursing in people’s faces; getting ridiculous on the treadmill with people falling off the back; breaking into people’s lives; psychoanalyzing everyone getting them to see it is their time to change for the better…its Jillian Michaels in Losing It.

I love Losing It with Jillian Michaels. I was surprised, which is why I waited until after the second episode to write this-I wanted to be sure I loved it. I wasn’t sure if they were going to do the whole Biggest Loser at home, or if it was going to be Dr Phil at home. It was a good mix of the two-Jillian getting into people’s heads and hearts, having them do heart-to-hearts and getting real with themselves.

I loved the butt kicking, it was true Jillian. Everyone is always so excited to see her, like they have never seen Biggest Loser and watched her eat people alive on the show…uh, I would be scared silly. I also liked that she knew when to pull back with smaller kids/children around during the workouts. It is tough to see your parents getting yelled at by someone, even if it is Jillian. Even though she looks fake while doing the psychoanalyzing, she knows what she is doing and knows how to get results.

I love that she doesn’t hock products. I have said this before-and during each episode of BL-I hate all the products that Bob does advertisements for. I am very proud of Jillian for not giving in to the temptation. The only promoting she does is for her website, which gives prizes awards at the end of the six-week transformation. I like that everyone should be rewarded for good behavior and life changes. I also like that when she cooks with the family it gives a little blurb of where to go to get healthy food tips.

My favorite line from the first episode-and true Jillian… “I am not killing you, you are killing you”

I hate that it is only an hour-long episode each. There is so much going on in the entire week that she is with them they could easily make them into a two-hour show. The commercials for the shows make it look like so much is going on with food getting tossed out, big time family therapy sessions. Not really though, I expected the first family to have a huge refrigerator overhaul with Jillian, but no they didn’t. They should have shown Jillian doing an entire week of meal planning with them. I mean, they do it on BL, why not in an actual home where it is most difficult to meal plan and make healthy choices?

I hate that she is only with the families for one week. Is that really enough for them to make life long changes? Could it be possible for that to make it last the rest of their lives and for the kids to remember what was taught to them later in their life? I mean, Jillian sets goals for them to achieve in six weeks for when she returns to check on them, but what about after that? Just because you looked amazing at your wedding or did a 5k, are going to keep it up? Did she teach you enough or was hard on you enough to make it all permanent?

Another of my all time hates and this goes for all her workout DVDs and her TV appearances-I hate that she doesn’t do the workouts! It makes me so angry to watch her get out there and yell at the people, train the people in kick boxing but she doesn’t hop on the treadmill or do planks-she just sits on the people. It would be more inspiring to me to have her running next to me, showing what not only I am capable but her also. Most famous trainers and gyms class instructors do the entire workout-at a higher intensity than the students-and it drives me nuts that she doesn’t. Don’t yell at me or psychoanalyze me while I am huffing and puffing and sweating and feeling gross; get on the machine with me and make me feel like you care that way.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    June 10, 2010 6:08 pm

    I haven’t seen Biggest Loser, or this new show, but speaking as a person who has been BIG all my life (or some variation of BIG depending on how successful my weight loss has been) I can guarantee that life changes don’t happen in a week. You can certainly attain a DESIRE to make a life change, but remodeling those habits takes a lot longer. I hope Jillian will go back in the 6 weeks, and again at 3 months, and 6th months, just to be sure they are stil focused. Her on-going encouragement will mean everything to them.

    • June 10, 2010 7:48 pm

      Thank you Linda for the insight, you are very correct-it takes longer than six weeks to keep up the true long-term weight loss. And you words to Jillians ears-I hope she goes back at certain intervals to check up on them and give advice and encouragement as needed.

  2. lifesgood permalink
    June 11, 2010 12:00 am

    I really love the show and I don’t think the “psychoanalyzing she does on Loser is any different than the stuff she is doing on Losing It”. It works on Loser and it also works here. I find it so odd how men like Simon Cowell or Gordon Ramsey yell and scream and everyone loves them. This woman yells to save lives. She succeeds at it and people attack her. The show is really touching. I have been overweight my whole life and I would kill to have Jillian come in and help me the way she is helping these families. Their transformations are really inspirational and I for one like it better than Biggest Loser.

    • June 11, 2010 9:05 am

      Thank you lifesgood for you input. I love Jillian like no other trainer-my sis-in-law compares me to her while we are doing our workouts-and I agree that therapy is necessary for figuring out what your personal issue is so you can lose the weight for good. I wonder sometimes if it goes to far, and I think that it is the only way to get through to some people. My biggest gripe is I really wish it is a two-hour show. I miss seeing all the workouts and big weigh ins.

Leave a Reply

