Skip to content

I Love Jillian Michaels…I Hate Not Being as Inspiring as Her

June 18, 2010

We all know she is like no other. I give her a hard time about all her yelling and psychoanalyzing but I admire her like no other. Not only did she grow up with some weight on her so she knows what everyone is actually going through, but she has entrepreneuralized an industry that I am sure more people are looking into.  

I love Jillian Michaels. I write about her a lot, one because she is all over the place on TV, in books and on DVDs. Second because I admire her. She is a strong female that has brokered a career that she loves and takes pride in, into something that people recognize and want to do also. Who doesn’t have negative things that are really just a positive in a different light? I mean drill sergeant much? It really does make me think that in a former life she was in the armed forces-my sis-in-law said that’s what drill sergeants do: tear you down to nothing so they can build you up into something. That is Jillian’s purpose, making us realize that we are worth being something.  

Jillian as a Teen

 

Redbook cover story she says “Oh, my God, it was pure hell. I spent all of eighth grade in my classroom because God forbid I ever left. I was terrorized. And karate saved my life. It all stopped the day I broke two boards with a kick.” See, she gets it.  

I also love that even though the economy sucks right now, people still go to the gym or buy workout videos because Jillian has made health and fitness an in-your-face go-to for stress relief and control. I would love to be a fitness instructor or dietician because she has made it an interesting feat, something that is helpful for everyone. Health and fitness is our ruling agenda in life, the meals we eat and the money we spend on weight loss products. Jillian just makes us get up and do it.  

Jillian’s unbreakable weight-loss rules:  

  • You must count calories.  “Not counting calories is the biggest mistake people make,” she says. “Use whatever medium you’re on most frequently: the Web–the free site, caloriesperhour.com is a great resource. Or use an iPhone app. Or carry a pocket calorie counter with you.”  
  • You must avoid processed foods at all costs.  “Processed foods are loaded with preservatives and chemicals–in other words, poison. The right quality food makes such a difference in how you feel. I always say, if it had a mother or came from the ground, that’s a green-light food.”
  • You must do five intense 30-minute workouts a week.  “Thirty minutes is me being kind! Make it fun. Go walking with friends; plan a family outing. And if it requires you to get up a little earlier, do it, for God’s sake!” 
  • You must inspire yourself.  “You have to establish the why: Why do you want to change your life? What’s inspiring and motivating you? A long life? To wear your skinny jeans to your 10-year high school reunion? That why is gonna carry you through.” 

I hate not being an inspiration like she is. I find it difficult to inspire myself some days, to get up off the couch and at least put in a walking tape let alone Boost My Metabolism or Yoga Meltdown. But being inspiring to others is tricky. Yelling and being bitchy doesn’t work on everyone, but neither does being all hearts and smiles. It is rough trying to figure out what works for a single person. And what if their issues go deeper then you can handle. What if you can’t even get them to realize they need to go to the gym by themselves to get to the place in their head for a break through?  

I hate not being able to transform myself further, losing the last twenty pounds, getting rid of the muffin top or sagging arms. Grr, you know? You come so far, either by diet and exercise alone or surgery like me, but it is the last little bit that gets you down, frustrates you to the point that you start to forget the new healthy ways and remember the old unhealthy ways. It is about being in the right head space, and once you lose that it is gone for a long time-and desperately hard to get back. Positive attitude takes you everywhere you want to go; well I was a born pessimist so it is hard for me to think good thoughts constantly.  

Well it goes without say that if I can’t get in the right head space myself how do I get someone else there. So what does Jillian say to get in the right head space? In her JillianMichaels.com newsletters she says “Having the right attitude is so important because thought is behavior. The power of the mind is total — the way you think about yourself manifests as your reality. We all know how easily negative thoughts can lead to lack of confidence, hopelessness, and depression.” Pretty much a say it and you create it type thing. My goal now is to keep creating those good thoughts.  

How do you stay motivated? Who is your healthy inspiration?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

