Skip to content

I Love Getting A New Job…I Hate How Nerve Wracking It Is

August 5, 2010

A wonderful family to help out when needed with a place to live and yummy food stuffs. A computer to use for searching and scouring; to get frustrated enough to cry your eyes out or so angry you just want to give up. The excitement of the perfect sounding one that you know you would be perfect for, the stress of getting an interview, the joy of actually accepting the position.

I love getting a new job…can we say “Hallelujah” to this please? I have been out of work for over a year now, and boy let me tell you job hunting is rough out there! I went to all the websites that have job announcements and where you can apply for jobs, did I get any? Nope. I got a lot of spam emails though. Yahoo’s Hotjobs was the worst; the first few times I applied through them I got close to 200 spam emails. Thanks a lot Hotjobs. The ones I got most feed back through were USAjobs.gov and Indeed.com.

I love the fun of prepping for a new job. Getting to buy new clothes for the job, even if it is the same type of job you already had, you cannot go in with the same-old-same-old clothes. It is also fun getting into a new persona that will take you farther than the job you already had. It is excellent to know that you will have all the confidence in the world going into this new position, because the old people or bosses aren’t there holding you back-or yourself for that matter. It is only positive on that first day when you have the absolutely gorgeous rose-colored glasses on.

I know that I am one of the fortunate few who have been able to get a job. Whether you were laid off, fired or quit for personal reasons it doesn’t matter in the job-getting. The employers who are hiring are so bombarded with applicants that they can’t hire everyone unfortunately (and I took it very personal that no one wanted me) so it was rare for me to even get an interview. With the West Coast having the highest unemployment rate at 10.7%, you can’t even get something trying to look for a job in another region because the Northeast with the lowest percentage was 8.8.

Tips for job searching:

  1. Don’t forget your manners. If you blog, twitter or facebook don’t be gauche or have way to personal items available so future employers can’t see them.
  2. Don’t overdo it. You are not doing yourself any justice by only producing half-done profiles of yourself. Commit to what you are writing about yourself so you are sold better.
  3. Get the word out. If you don’t let your family and friends know you are out of a job or in serious need of a new one, then they can’t help you if they know of jobs available.
  4. Use references well. If you list someone, whether it is an old boss or just a friend, be sure they are trustworthy and will only have positive things to say about you.
  5. Do apply in person. Fortunately for some, jobs are a networking thing. If you are looking for a higher-level position, they tend to be done by connections only, not over the internet because of the high ratio of applicants.

I hate how nerve-wracking it is to start a new job. It is scary not knowing if the managers you are going to work for are going to be hard-asses and expect too much from you, the type that do nothing and make you do everything, or the ones who have a way to laid back attitude that just lets everyone do as they please and come and go as they want. It is also scary not knowing what type of co-workers you will be working with. If they are going to be backstabbing gossips who spend more time talking about everyone else then doing their own work or the ones who are all help but don’t really know what they are doing, or the ones who talk way too much and take up to much time with unnecessary chit-chat.

It is also scary when you move to a new location for the job. Transferring positions or moving to a new state, getting to know the area is daunting. I have moved to quite a few places for jobs, and it has not gotten any easier. The worst was moving to Washington, DC, because the area inside DC is not all that great (safe) so by not knowing anyone I didn’t know if the apartment I got was in a good area or even the place of employment was in a safe area (it wasn’t really). Getting to know the driving area, the freeways and too many one-way streets, is so confusing. You think you have it when you drive it a few days beforehand, but the actual morning it seems that every crazy driver is out to get you and make you look bad by trying to make you late.

I hated the only online job searching that was available. Every job no matter if it was clerical, IT, medical or military it was apply online only. I am not a natural networker, nor do I actually enjoy job hunting, so you would think that the online applications would right up my alley. My gripe was that these people can’t even put a face with an application. They look at your skills, but do they really? I turned in over a fifty applications or resumes in one week and heard nothing from any of them. How can you trust that? Even Target is online now. It seems like employers just plain don’t want to see you face-to-face anymore. It got so frustrating that you just wanted to give up. And if I did hear back it was a you-suck letter (that is what I called rejections…not good mentality I know).

77 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 8:59 am

    Job hunting is always such a pain while you’re doing it but once you actually get the job all of the follow up calls and resumes seem worth it. I’m going through this job hunt thing right now so i can save up some money for college. I hate applying in person, for some reason when i actually apply in person the application seems so much longer.

  2. August 5, 2010 9:06 am

    Cool concept – I love , I hate… 🙂

  3. Raul permalink
    August 5, 2010 9:07 am

    Thanks for the post…it was inspiring. Just knowing you have found a job after a year makes me feel so much better. I have been searching for over a year and sometimes you feel like it will never end. You can’t help but take it personally. I can’t wait for the day that I get a new job…however…I will hate how nerve wracking it will be 🙂

    http://www.wutevs.wordpress.com

  4. August 5, 2010 9:08 am

    practice makes perfect. im a college student going into my junior year. ive done lots of internships and also worked 2 part times jobs (aside from going to school). and i have to say, you need to be rejected to become better at finding the right jobs for you, and become better during the interview.

    and the more interviews you attend, the better you are at it. I don’t know how it is in the professional world though. because the closest thing i’ve ever been to the professional setting is in my internships. but i say the same things over and over again during the interview that it just comes out natural.

  5. August 5, 2010 9:15 am

    You’re so right about networking. When I was job hunting right after college, I went so many places in person. I ended up with my current job when I went to interview at ANOTHER company. They told me I was overqualified, but they knew another job I’d be perfect for!

    I went straight from one interview to the next, and I was hired. The job I got was far better paid than any I’d applied for. Thanks to networking!!

  6. August 5, 2010 9:23 am

    Every time I get a new job I have the hope that I will love all of it. But, inevitably something I hate always creeps in as a task that must be done by someone, and I end up doing it. In fact, I was thinking about looking for a new job just recently because of the portions of my current job that I hate. But I have to remind myself that no job is perfect.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  7. August 5, 2010 9:24 am

    To give you some perspective from the employers side. Online applications are great because they weed out people who simply aren’t qualified. When jobs say things “requires a bachelor’s degree” or “requires relocation” you would be surprised how many people apply who don’t have degrees and aren’t willing to relocate. What a waste of time.

    Online applications are required because the recruiting staff doesn’t have the time or energy to meet every applicant in person or talk to them on the phone. As you mentioned the unemployment rate is high so every job that is posted gets an absurd amount of applicants, many who are not qualified, but are desperate for a job. I get it, the desperate for a job thing, I’ve been there, but in that giant pool of applicants there are many qualified people.

    Not selecting you for an interview or job is nothing personal, employers have few jobs and lots of applicants so they can pick the absolute cream of the crop, it doesn’t mean you did anything wrong or that you wouldn’t be good at the job, it just means that there was someone who they thought would be better, someone who was a better fit.

    Just be sure you aren’t making the mistakes of the people in this post: http://wp.me/pTMgM-b

    • August 9, 2010 6:13 pm

      You’re so spot-on when you say online resumes and filtering helps deal with a situation that has way too many resumes for the recruiting staff to handle. I will say though, the company I work for looks at every resume received. The scary thing with this current economy and unemployment is that there are so many over-qualified people out there looking for work!

  8. August 5, 2010 9:28 am

    Here, here!

    I’m currently plugging away at the job hunt myself. I, too, have sent out countless resumes and cover letters in response to online job postings. To me, the most frustrating part is submitting your credentials and only receiving a canned e-mail response confirming receipt and rarely hearing hide nor hare of your application thereafter.

    Having worked for a number of smallish companies, most of which were severely under-resourced for their primary, revenue generating work, I understand full well that most companies don’t have the time or resources to thoroughly review and respond to every job inquiry they receive.

    Unfortunately, knowing this does not reduce the frustration that results from spending hours applying for work online and oftentimes feeling like you’re sending your resume and cover letter into the vast blackhole of the interwebs, never to be seen or heard from again.

    In the end, I suppose all we merry job-seekers can do is forge on and keep our fingers crossed.

    • michelletherunner permalink
      August 6, 2010 12:31 am

      I’m in the same position as you…job hunting and growing more and more frustrated with all the different online application processes and like you said the canned generic response. The “no phone calls please” are also a pain to deal with. How is someone supposed to follow up these days?
      I have taken my job search to the net finally. I decided to do what many are already doing and post my resume on a blog. http://www.michelletherunner.wordpress.com I’ve even decided to brand myself to help make me more memorable upon meeting me using a business card that matches my blog.

      Good luck with your job hunt…it’s not easy…and as everyone keeps cheering me on from the sidelines I will share their words of wisdom with you. “keep plugging away..it will happen” and “when it’s meant to be it will happen”. It really is a full time job just to get one isn’t it?

  9. rhiella1expat permalink
    August 5, 2010 9:29 am

    hey there, I’ve just started a new job (my 4th day today!) and I absolutely understand this post. I’m not a child but it really is soo nerve wracking, I’m generally quite confident but a new job is enough to keep me up at night!

    Good luck in yours and well done for getting it! You know you mustn’t take rejection personally, as you say, employers get so many applicants especially with it being online its so accessable and they’re judging you initially on your resume and not you as a person and its so hard to come across as individual and striking on a piece of professional paper!

    Anyway goodluck again!

  10. August 5, 2010 9:34 am

    This is an interesting topic, and you gave some good advice. I love the pictures.

  11. August 5, 2010 9:37 am

    A very poignant post. It would seem that a lot of people are out of work these days. I wonder what the ‘universe’ is trying to tell them. Maybe, if they frame it right, this is their opportunity to do what they’ve always wanted. I bet that the job they were working was something that really didn’t suit them (or at least, for most of them). And by having been out of a job, it gives them the opportunity to be entrepreneurial in scope. That is, they can finally start-up that business that they ALWAYS wanted to. Really do something that they LOVE to do! 🙂

    With Love and Gratitude,

    The Intentional Sage

  12. August 5, 2010 9:43 am

    Good post, great job tips! I’m about to be out of college so they will definitely help with getting a job!

  13. August 5, 2010 9:43 am

    Firstly I hope you get a job soon. Searching job can be nerve wracking at times. But once you get a job the joy for get a job out does everything else. Then there is this thing about change in environment and stuff.

    All in all a very good post. Would love to read more of your posts.

    http://wisevishvesh.wordpress.com

  14. August 5, 2010 9:55 am

    I totally LOVE this post, and I also LOVE to HATE, so I guess I’ll be back. But nice post, very structured, and nice tips. I hate those job-spammers sooooo much, especially the time you have to take to unsubscribe to all of them 🙂

  15. August 5, 2010 9:57 am

    I’ve been at my current job for 7 years, and I distinctly remember the paralyzing anxiety and paranoia I felt when I first started.

    But I love my job!

  16. August 5, 2010 9:58 am

    I know exactly what you mean. The ups and downs of job searching can be gut wrenching. I’m currently in an unhappy position, and while I am ecstatic that I do in fact still have a job, it’s not stopping me from looking elsewhere. What’s the most painful is knowing that you appear to be the perfect fit for a job, but you don’t even receive a phone call. Ugh! Congratulations on the new job…just breathe deep and you’ll make it!

  17. August 5, 2010 10:00 am

    Great Tips for job searchers.

  18. August 5, 2010 10:10 am

    nice

  19. August 5, 2010 10:52 am

    I can appreciate that you took the time to give tips to those who are still unemployed and looking for work. It’s easy to be selfish and gain employment and focus on YOUR situation moving forward. But instead, you gave firsthand tips and pointers to help those in your same situation, and I dig that.

    Congratulations on making Freshly Pressed.

    ;]

  20. Vodka and Ground Beef permalink
    August 5, 2010 11:13 am

    I love new job clothes! Good luck in your job.

  21. August 5, 2010 11:14 am

    I can completely relate in regards to online applying only. I have applied for about 40 different positions, all online (the only option). I’ve received one and only one positive response. I am now interviewing for the position and hope to be hired. Instead of applying online, I would rather submit a resume in person. One of my strong points is that I make a GREAT first impression. That’s not as easily done online. Good luck in your new job and congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  22. August 5, 2010 11:34 am

    Great Post! I know exactly what you mean. The thrills and goose bumps while you await the verdict. And the never ending worry of passing or failing the interview. =)

  23. August 5, 2010 11:40 am

    Unfortunately job hunting is a big challenge. I know people who have been looking for a job in their own field for two years without good results. Not to scare you but yeah that’s been a friends experience. Now I have finished school and no one is hiring journalists in my city. I can work for free which i’m fine with but it doesn’t bring home the bacon. As the bills stack up so does my stress level. I am not giving up so I will keep looking for my own job field but I know that I will have to work an office reception job until something comes up. Good luck! peace,
    Sepi.

  24. August 5, 2010 1:06 pm

    I totally agree with you, I haven’t had too many jobs and tend to keep one for a very long time especially if I’m happy. My current job I have has been 2 years and while there are definite ups and downs I mainly come in to do what I love and try to leave all my stuff going at home or bothering me back at home. I couldn’t imagine moving to someplace I never been to before just so I could work, but I do understand that’s just the way it is with this job market. I wish you all the luck with this new job and congrats on getting it!

  25. August 5, 2010 1:38 pm

    Hey, you’re right…what does it take to finally get a job these days? It’s sad that it takes faking that there’s a boy in balloon just to get noticed. Or to star in a “reality show” with Levi Johnston. Now *that’s* hitting rock bottom. http://willblogforlols.com

  26. August 5, 2010 2:02 pm

    I totally agree with this blog post. I love the idea of some fresh new adventure, but at the same time, it scares the hell out of me!

  27. August 5, 2010 2:08 pm

    Any tips on how you successfully landed a job would be greatly appreciated by this unemployed gal haha And congratz on the new job!

  28. jdschaefer permalink
    August 5, 2010 2:24 pm

    It’s nice to read a reflection on ‘what happens’ after accepting a new position. For many the nervous period between accepting a new position and taking it comes as a surprise. For those of you already working, there’s always http://ineedapeptalk.wordpress.com/category/work-2/ to get you through the rough patches.

  29. August 5, 2010 2:36 pm

    Great post, here at The Real Post Grad, we know all to well what it feels like to be out of work and searching for that perfet position. Please check out/ comment on our blog with your input- we’d love to hear from someone with opinions just like us! 🙂 http://www.therealpostgrad.wordpress.com.

    Thanks!

  30. iodine0818 permalink
    August 5, 2010 2:43 pm

    I know exactly how you feel! It took me forever to find the job that I do have and even now I’m not getting as many hours as I would like, so my paycheck isn’t so great. So I’m trying to look for something else, but it is really daunting. Great post! I’m sure almost everyone can relate to this.

  31. August 5, 2010 2:58 pm

    Congrats on the new job! I also love Usajobs.com. And I totally agree – new clothes are an essential piece of a new job. As is a new briefcase, if you are in a job that requires one :).

  32. August 5, 2010 3:17 pm

    great post! Great information!

  33. August 5, 2010 3:21 pm

    Interesting post. I am in a job hunt as well. Networking is the way to go. I have seen statistics that say 85%-95% of jobs are never posted anywhere and go by word of mouth. I have also been told that a large local company, is now exclusively using Linedin.com when searching for candidates. If your not using Linkedin, you should be.

  34. kvgb permalink
    August 5, 2010 3:22 pm

    Great post, I will read more. I know what it was like to be out of a job and all the feeling in between.
    http://www.kvgb.wordpress.com

  35. August 5, 2010 3:37 pm

    I agree with you about the online application process. It is so daunting and I am still unemployed. I tried going door to door in NYC trying to apply to different production companies when I first moved here, but they won’t even see you without an employment. You have to apply for everything online. Sometimes I wonder if they even see my resume.

    • August 5, 2010 7:21 pm

      I agree with you about wondering if employers even read or see the resumes. I liked applying with larger companies and federal agencies because they update the site when decisions are made on the applications. Good luck in your search!

  36. August 5, 2010 3:38 pm

    I meant *appointment not *employment.

  37. August 5, 2010 4:17 pm

    Great article! Thanks for the tips. Everyone should read this who is looking for a new job these days.

  38. August 5, 2010 4:49 pm

    Starting a new job can be sooooooo crazy. It’s almost like being the New Kid at school sometimes. Congrats to you for being able to find a job in these crazy times and great tips for everyone out there 🙂

  39. August 5, 2010 4:54 pm

    Congratulations on your new job! I hope all works out for you. Great post.

  40. August 5, 2010 5:26 pm

    Very informative article 🙂

  41. cleverlittlemiss permalink
    August 5, 2010 6:01 pm

    I just got a new job and I start in about two weeks. I was quite proud the day they officially offered me the position, but now, now I’m scared to death of what to expect because now I have to keep the job. You are right about prepping for a new job though, I love the fun too. Good luck on your search.

  42. brittanycgates permalink
    August 5, 2010 6:19 pm

    Congrats on your new job! I hope everything goes well.

    • August 5, 2010 7:18 pm

      Thank you! The job so far is going really well. I just started so my rose-colored glasses are still firmly in place. 🙂

  43. August 5, 2010 6:55 pm

    Enjoyed your post! Great info too. LB

  44. August 5, 2010 7:17 pm

    You are right about the large search engines. They will spam you to death.

    For people who are interested, I like SimplyHired.com, they are “a vertical search engine company based in Silicon Valley”. Using them has been a refreshing. They have nice tips on their blog and they have listings specific to the Americas, Europe, Asia and Africa.

    I hope this tip is good for your readers. Good luck everyone, you’ll find your way.

  45. August 5, 2010 7:29 pm

    So true!

  46. nikkele permalink
    August 5, 2010 7:30 pm

    Great insight on networking. It makes things easier when you are honest about your employment status and solicit help from people who may know something.

  47. August 5, 2010 7:33 pm

    Great post!

  48. Susie permalink
    August 5, 2010 7:37 pm

    Good luck!. I think I would rather work with helpful people, but who don’t know much than backstabbers/gossipers. For me I think the most nerve wracking thing is the people you will be working with.

  49. August 5, 2010 7:50 pm

    Glad I came across your blog as I’m starting my job search once more this year after a temporary job finished. Any suggestions on how to keep your spirits up during a long job search? That would make a nice follow up post.

    And I feel your pain as you start a new job. My temp job was stressful in that every daily project I was given felt like a final exam. Although I succeeded I put myself under too much pressure. By the end I was glad the contract was up.

  50. August 5, 2010 7:52 pm

    I’m in the process of job hunting right now, straight out of college, and I felt so alone… I know I’m not, but it’s nice to see that other people are in the same boat… 🙂 Thank you for the pointers!

  51. August 5, 2010 7:56 pm

    I also tried before and it made me headache.
    I got near 400 spam mails. Wish you good luck!

  52. goldenpast permalink
    August 5, 2010 9:52 pm

    This is some good information.
    I recently found work. Couldn’t me more happier!

  53. August 5, 2010 11:44 pm

    Hey hi.. if you keep job searching aside. i have one thing to say!! we may quit our old job&and the reason might be anything. but am really saying heartfully that whatever the problem with our old company may be, but its really draining to join a new company, again searching for a supporters, everyone have to like you, you have to change a bit to their likes&they have to understand.

    Hufff!!!! its really a tiring one, i promise, not many can adapt very easily, trust me. xperiance spks….:-) 🙂

  54. Kindra Pring permalink
    August 6, 2010 12:21 am

    In the end, a job is a job right? I know at least five people that have moved out of state just to try and find a job. It certainly is tough out there, but your advice is excellent. I hadn’t heard of USAJobs. I am fortunate enough to have a job, but it’s very irregular and doesn’t do weekends (which sounds nice, but that means I can only work three days a week). Keep at it – all jobs have some kind of award.

  55. August 6, 2010 12:50 am

    Getting a job is like giving birth. The interview is as painful as the labor pain. But once you get a job, it’s celebrations like a birthday bash. To sustain is like raising the kid. All the best to the guys out there.

  56. August 6, 2010 12:55 am

    break a leg!

  57. whoismrbrown permalink
    August 6, 2010 1:35 am

    Playing the field of walking into a Job interview is like surrendering to the will of the boss & still feeling confident enough to be worth hiring… I feel that being needed and being contracted or hired personally is the best way to go. When I think of JOB I think of JOB from the Bible.

  58. August 6, 2010 4:09 am

    I agree with you, it is not easy to find a good job or a job that suits us the most. So many things are attributed with a long lasting job. Thanks for sharing this post.

  59. mrlui permalink
    August 6, 2010 4:30 am

    So many echos … yeap, getting a job is a huge project, challenging our own confidence, patience and creativity (yes – need to remain creative in order to get ‘new’ perspective’ to sell ourselves admist limited space on on-line application or in a 1-page, application letter.’ What you have covered are not big different from what happened in the past … same cycle of identifying right target, tailor-fine-tuning resume and application letter, and spending a bit money on stamps, envelopes and papers, etc. What ends up is we all need to be lucky enough to be picked and which is not controlled in our own hand. For networking, yes, it’s needed but sometimes it also counts on how many people who can tap on, and if we are willing to take a slightly different idea from those who help us, and have the guts to stick on. Having said that, I am yet getting myself out to the job hunting since Jan, after leaving the company I served for 20 years. Guess I need tripl shots of self-motivation when decide to do so (it won’t be long).

    Your blog is good – like it. As others’ said, ‘All the best to your new job, and enjoy as much as you can’.

  60. August 6, 2010 6:49 am

    Congrats on the front page feature! I have a new job that I recently learned may dry up and go away, and of course my “old” job is gone, so THAT would suck!!!!!!!!!!!

  61. August 6, 2010 7:23 am

    so do i…but the job market is wide open to try out…

    http://www.stageisset.com

  62. August 6, 2010 7:46 am

    Congratulations on your new job! I recently began looking for a job after being home with my children for a few years. Before that I spent almost 10 years with the same organization so it has been a long time since I looked for a job. I hate the online applications and just received my first “you suck letter”. Thanks for this post – it is the encouragment I needed this morning!

  63. August 6, 2010 8:07 am

    I just got a new Job that I am excited about, but am relocating for it. Again excited, but gosh its nerve racking! Thanks for the laugh to take my mind off of it.

  64. August 8, 2010 5:05 pm

    This was a great post, thank you very much 🙂

  65. sayitinasong permalink
    August 9, 2010 7:17 am

    I have been laid off twice- (because of the economy) within the past 4 years… the last job was from recruitment- ow’s that for irony? And boy, did I know what I was in for- having worked in recruitment. What I found is this- apply everywhere- you never know… but mostly apply directly to employers- preferably not trhough consultants etc. That’s how I got my interviews… it is so tough out there. I did in the end get a job- a job I accepted as I needed (any) money comeing in… but I was fortunate in landing a job I actually now love- even though it does not pay the type of money I would like…. it is a toss up, that one… but you cannot equate happiness with the money- like my old boss always said… if you only go after the money… you’ll get used to the money and then you are stuck with the job….

  66. August 10, 2010 7:23 am

    I am in the process of looking for a new job too. I am excited; yet I am scared of finding nothing. Living out in the country, there are few options. Good luck to you if you haven’t found something already.

  67. August 14, 2010 4:42 am

    good post thanks

  68. August 15, 2010 2:38 pm

    there are many good career sites out there, my favourite one is careertrade.net

  69. August 16, 2010 7:58 am

    Awesome i like this site realy bookmarkd!

  70. Debra permalink
    September 4, 2010 10:11 pm

    I was a nervous wreck until I found a job. I started the job, and despite 20 years experience, I am still a nervous wreck because the employers’ expectations are so high. They know how hard it is to get a job these days and use that to their advantage…the pressure is on. I have always been a very good employee but right now, I can hardly sleep and feel the anxiety all the time. I am thankful to have found a job, but will be even more thankful when I know the ropes and begin to feel comfortable in my new surroundings.

  71. November 3, 2010 2:25 pm

    online resumes are easy to submit and they are easy to make and edit one too :

  72. jen permalink
    August 12, 2012 4:35 am

    as a youngster looking for pt work i encountered a lot of online tests where you’re supposed to pick answers about your personality and work ethic. before many of these tests there is a notice that tells you not to lie because the test is engineered to detect any sort of dishonesty and will report such activity to the company you are applying at. they literally tell you not to choose the answers you think are correct, but to answer honestly even if your honest answer makes you look bad/a bad worker.

    i don’t believe in lying to get a job, but it really makes it difficult to put your best foot forward or to sell yourself, when you aren’t even sure if your answers will be received as you honestly intend them, or if it will just seem like you’re trying to look good. a computer can’t gauge if i’m just saying what i think you want to hear vs actual personality.

    like, they replaced the interview with a survey but are missing important elements of a PERSON trying to get a job.

Leave a Reply

