Skip to content

I Love Glowing Skin…I Hate Acne

August 28, 2010

How is your skin doing today? Does it ever feel like you can never do right by it? That you eat healthy all day with the five fruits and vegetables, liters of water and no processed sugar and still you get pimples. Does it seem like the older you get the more zits you get, or the hormonal changes happen and boom-some zits? Grr, it is so frustrating having to wear cover-up all the time because there are things are on your face that aren’t needed.

I love glowing skin. When I have pimples, zits, spots, white heads, blemishes-whatever you want to call it, I get so self-conscious because it feels like everyone sees what I see in the mirror. I love when the few days a month I have clear and healthy skin. Oh man, when I don’t have to slap on the cover-up it is a good day. Do you how much time you save in the morning when you don’t have to put so much make-up on? Yeesh, if all days could be like that I could sleep later or take my time driving to work or actually eat breakfast at home instead of in the car!

I love sunscreen. Sunscreen, sunscreen, and more sunscreen-we are at the worst part of summer when everyone is outside trying to soak up the last of the rays before school gets to heavy, or the weather changes and we have no more sun for awhile. Even if it isn’t hot outside and it is just a sunny cool day, sunscreen is important. For women it is easier since sunscreen is now prevalent in all moisturizers, but we don’t put moisturizer on the rest of our bodies. Have you heard the news reports and magazine articles about skin cancer happening on the left side of people’s bodies? It is because we are driving all the time now, and we don’t have sunscreen or any type of protection on the left side of our faces, necks, arms and hands. The easiest thing to do in the morning is slap on some sunscreen right after you shower that way you don’t have to worry about it when you are hurrying around to get to work on time.

I love that I can eat healthy food for healthy skin. I read recently in a Yahoo article David Zinczenko about the 6 Best Foods for Healthy Skin. It made me look at what I eat and see what I can change or add into my diet to help clear up my skin. We hear all about drinking tons of water for healthy skin. Hmm, I don’t know how much truth is in that because I drink between four and five liters of water a day, and I still get pimples. He listed Salmon which helps lock in moisture in the skin-no help for me since I am a vegetarian, but it is the Omega-3 fatty acids that are needed, so luckily I can eat walnuts and flaxseeds to get the same effects. Carrots, which I love so those will get more prevalent, help to fill in blotches on your skin to give a healthy glow. Avocados, Beans, or legumes, all help to smooth out wrinkles, and Grapes help to stop the skin from sagging-added grape benefit is they help protect us from heart attacks.

10 Fast Skin Fixes:  (great advice in this article)

  1. Wash your face before you go to bed.
  2. Wear sunscreen every day, year-round.
  3. Be nice to your face.
  4. Stop thinking that if your skin feels tight it must be clean.
  5. Banish breakouts.
  6. Keep shine at bay midday.
  7. Wash your face after you do your ‘do.
  8. Clean your makeup brushes weekly.
  9. Change pillowcases often.
  10. Get your beauty rest.

I hate acne. I am way too old to be having it-anyone over seventeen is too old in my book. Why is it that I had absolutely no pimples in high school, but I grow up through my twenties and yep…there they are. I get them at the corners of my mouth, I probably wipe my mouth to much or something, but still! I do not deserve them. I wash my face daily; I use moisturizer, get sleep, drink tons of water and eat healthy. This is the time of my life when I should be living it up and not worrying about skin malfunctions, not covering up even more imperfections.

I hate that there is no for sure cause of acne. Okay, my pores clog. Well, I wash my face-shouldn’t that be good enough? But other than that there is no one cause to say, Don’t Do_____. Acne.org, who should be the ones that know what to do and not do, have some presumptions but no hard facts. Some reasons may be hormones-that makes sense in your teens, diet, evolutionary biology, vitamin deficiency, stress and more…More, how much more could there be, since they list everything that is going on in your life. They say that diet has a direct effect on insulin levels, which directly affects all the hormones in our bodies. They think that a diet that causes insulin spikes affects the development of acne-does that mean diabetics all have acne?

I hate that there are some easy ways to stop or get rid of acne. If it is all so easy, why haven’t I figured it out yet? Easiest ways? Stop touching your face…that is the hardest part for me. I touch my face and wipe my mouth constantly. So oils, bacteria and just plain grime gets moved all around. Blech. Another supposed “easy” way to get rid of acne? Exercise. Well I do that already, and two hours a day sometimes, but still it is there. I am glad I am getting the good exercise in, but come on-I want to reap other benefits too. Something I haven’t tried is benzoyl peroxide which you can buy cheaply over-the-counter and doesn’t come in a heavy lotion form. The benzoly kills the bacterium that causes acne so I think I will add this to my daily routine. Anything to get the stuff to stop popping up.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marie permalink
    June 23, 2011 3:30 pm

    im 13 and hate it right now i have 5 of them, i know thta not a lot but they are HUDGE. ive had acne since 3rd grade and improved quite a bit this year but i want clear, clean, glowing skin NOT BIG PORES AND ACNE PRONE SKIN. :0

Leave a Reply

