Skip to content

I Love the Primetime Emmys…I Hate So Many Faves Nominated

August 29, 2010

Okay, you could say I watch too much television. I watch more than the recommended two hours a day. I do get close to two hours of exercise a day, but I watch television while I eat…shame on me. I don’t do squats, lunges, sit-ups or push-ups during commercials, though I have been known to put in a Leslie Sansone walking tape in the ole laptop and watch Biggest Loser while exercising. So, yeah, I love TV.

I love the Primetime Emmy Awards. I love to watch the Emmys more than the Oscars really, because I actually care about all the nominated stars more in the Emmys. The Oscars are about hyped up movie actors who do one movie project a year, and then promote it until we don’t care about it anymore. Television actors work year round doing long days every day; they don’t promote their shows except going on talk shows at the beginning of the season and they are usually the less popular stars and not as known in the acting world when they hit it big on TV. Another reason I like the Emmys is because the awards are all relevant to the show. We are watching actors and actresses getting awards, not the behind the scenes people who I don’t know anything about-rude, I know.

I love that I can count on my favorite actresses to get nominated. With television actors you know that they bring their A-game to each and every show, because television programming is a fickle business. To many low ratings and a television network will drop a TV show like a hot potato. My favorite shows are drama shows; my two favorites are Law and Order: SVU and The Closer. I think all the actors in both shows should be nominated, as well as the shows themselves. And you know that a show is good when the lead actress is nominated seven times in a row like with Mariska Hargitay and five times in a row like with Kyra Sedgwick. I also love Julianna Margulies, and would love to see her win again, since the last time she won was in 1995 and nominated five times for ER.

 Mariska Hargitay  Kyra Sedgwick  Julianna Hargitay

I also love to see what the stars where at the Emmys. The Emmys seem to have a classy air to them, the stars not dressing in ostentatious gowns but more sedate and respectable. The stars usually dress in more covered and elegant dresses, not like the Oscars where they dress in elaborate and flashy garb that is only to get noticed in. I am not saying that the Emmy-dressers don’t dress expensively and can get flamboyant also, but they seem to be more about coming for the awards and seeing the show. It also seems like there are less bad/tacky dresses going on than at other award shows. I think movie stars are used to people thinking they rock no matter what, but TV actors are used to wearing jeans and t-shirts during their shows so they like to choose classy and dressy items to get noticed in.

I hate that so many of my favorite stars are nominated at the same time. That is really the good thing about the Oscars-I usually only care about one actor in a category. How can I choose or even root for one actor or actress when I like a lot of them. I am happy for the winners-unless I didn’t like them to begin with-but then I feel bad for the ones who didn’t win. It is a little bittersweet, and I don’t even know these people. Who can choose between Matthew Fox and Jon Hamm? Or Steve Carell and Tony Shalhoub? What about Terry O’Quinn and Andre Braugher, or Jon Cryer and Neil Patrick Harris? It gets confusing to keep track of them all-like I need a scorecard or something.

I hate that my favorite shows don’t even get the nod. The actresses in the shows get a nomination-not even an award, just nominated-but the show gets the shaft all the time. I realize Law and Order: SVU has been on the air forever, but something about it is going right if Mariska Hartigay keeps getting nominated. Same with The Closer, it is a great show and no nod. I loved the Pacific mini-series by Tom Hanks, but no actor nods-crazy. It is like a popularity contest sometimes. And what about the Biggest Loser not getting nominated in the category for Outstanding Reality – Competition Program-are you kidding me? The Biggest Loser is the most popular competition reality show on the air, and no nomination? Are they crazy? Who doesn’t want to see Jillian Michaels all gussied up and winning an award?

I hate that the nominations seem like a popularity contest sometimes. If there is a new and recently popular show that has come on, every year they get a show nomination and they usually take up the acting awards too. Mad Men is this year’s favorite again. I agree that shows, if they are good and deserving, should have multiple nominations, but some just don’t deserve it. True Blood? Nope, I would rather read the books-the series is so much better! And Glee is the year’s new-fangled favorite again that is singing its way to the top of every chart. Can’t say I have watched the show, I have heard the remake of a few of their songs, but give others a chance.

Do you have a favorite star or show that was or wasn’t nominated-or do you disagree with my faves?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    August 29, 2010 7:32 pm

    Great blog! The Closer is one of my favorites – Kyra Sedgewick is so excellent! I’ll be surprised if she doesn’t get an award for her performance.

  2. December 2, 2010 12:37 pm

    i like movie actors that are not only good looking but can play a lot of differient roles ::`

Leave a Reply

