Skip to content

I Love the 2010 Oscar Fashions…I Hate Weird Dress Forms

March 7, 2010

The Oscars opened different with all the Best Actress and Actor nominees being introduced-um, I think we all knew that already. Neil Patrick Harris is nothing but embarrassing, but it was really funny-Nobody wants to do it alone, right? The opening with Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin-I was right. They were hilarious together, the perfect play off each other, nothing to embarrassing. And poor Meryl Streep; biggest loser of the Academy Awards…

I loved Maggie Gyllenhaal’s dress by Dries Van Noten. The dress was different with a weird blue hand-painted pattern, but she looked magnificent. Her hair was done in an up-do and her make-up was perfect. Great choice Maggie! Mariska Hargitay looked stunning in her Vera Wang black long side bow dress, she looked super thin and sleek with her hair up and styled nicely.

I loved Sandra Bullock, in her pale Marchesa peek-a-boo lace dress, she was looking great also. She wore her hair down and stick-straight and it looked nice, but her lips were a little too red for me. Anna Kendrick looked very good in her dress by Elie Saab. The only thing, I did not like about this long, off the shoulder dress were the color. The color was so pale it looked like it was her natural skin color; I just wish the color was a little darker.

Love hate, love hate…hmmm. Sara Jessica Parker looked good in Chanel. Thankfully it was not lilac or another purple. It was a butter yellow strapless dress but not, it had a yellow strap that came around the front of her neck like a backwards halter; it wasn’t fitted so it looked a little sloppy. It also had an unusual beaded or jeweled neckline that pointed up to her chin. Her hair looked so fake and was huge, it looked like her hair had tubes inside it and her hair was teased around it.

Another star that dressed okay, but not to impressive was Penelope Cruz. She dressed in a wine-colored Donna Karen dress that looked like a glorified bridesmaid dress. Donna and Penelope can both do better. Kate Winslet’s slimming Yves Saint Laurent silvery bronze corset style dress was very nice, I liked that the corset looked like it wasn’t attached, I didn’t like the pleats though. Her hair was also down but done in her signature old-timey curls.

I hated Jennifer Lopez’s gown. She was wearing a Giorgio Armani Prive lilac or pink colored form-fitting dress, that looked like it had a huge lilac butterfly attached to her hip…um, trying to hide the butt? She would have looked perfect without the attached bug, because she looked amazing nevertheless. Vera Farmiga looked hideous in her Marchesa maroon ruffled monstrosity. The entire dress was covered in head-size ruffles, all except the side of her right waist and her behind. Hmm.

What was up with Charlize Theron? Her Dior-lilac again-flower boob eyesore was crazy. It was a body slimming darker lilac gown with a lighter lilac making flowers on her boobs and the “stems” flowing to the back of her dress and then hanging down on the ground. Believe me when I say, ugly. And Diane Kruger, wow does she ever know how to pick a normal looking dress? She wore an atrocious Chanel off-white ruffled dress. It was halter style with a bow tying at the neck, then a white bodice, black flowered lace ruffled hip and upper thigh area, more black lace then pleated white flowing to the ground. Who comes up with these weird looking gowns?

I also hated Zoe Saldana in her Givenchy Haute Couture gown. It was a strange purple pom-pom looking variegated dress that had a slit up to the crotch-the slit would have been fine but she had to walk down the stairs to present awards and she had to hold it apart to walk…not the best choice.

The men, I have to say, all did very well. George Clooney looked great and Jake Gyllenhaal can do no wrong by me so he looked good. Even Samuel L Jackson looked good with his black beret was cute.

So what was with all the weird dresses? I can stand all the purple, a total celeb fave this year. But flower boobs, pom poms on the dress, huge ruffles. Next year, lets go more normal.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 10:56 am

    I don’t watch, but the gowns are entertainment!

    the Buzz
    Brandy

  2. March 8, 2010 12:15 pm

    So far…everything I’ve read says J. Lo wasn’t looking so good, but I adored her dress. I think she looked beautiful. I also thought Queen Latifah looked incredible…and Gabourey Sidibe is my new fave!

  3. March 8, 2010 2:21 pm

    The best of the night: Mariska Hargitay.Simply perfect.
    The worst: Zoe Saldana. It seemed an Ostrich.

  4. March 8, 2010 4:25 pm

    Sandra Bullock looked fab!

  5. March 8, 2010 7:54 pm

    I thought Penelope Cruz and Sandra Bullock looked great. I didn’t like Tina Fey’s dress.

  6. March 8, 2010 9:41 pm

    JLo and Vera were on my short list too, but didn’t make it to the post. Love your lists and details. Happy FMM!

  7. November 4, 2010 6:23 am

    Sandra Bullock is one the greatest actress in my opnion, she plays a lot of different roles ::

Leave a comment